How I Do It

At last month’s book club, one of the women asked, “How do you find time to read so much?” It was a general question, but I was one who was able to give an answer. I actually get asked this a lot. I’m a pretty voracious reader, I know. I’ve got a bit of a reputation. So here is my answer (and yes, this is what I told my book club):

First of all, I’m kind of a fast reader. It is almost nothing for me to sit down a read a book in an afternoon. I have always been a fast reader and it just comes naturally to me. So I am able to read more in less time.

Second, I don’t sleep very much. Once every one else in the house is in bed, I jump at the chance to read or watch TV all by myself (this is also how I am able to watch so many shows on Netflix). I regularly go to bed after midnight. Or, if I’m in bed at a decent time, I’m in bed reading until 1 or 2 am. I keep thinking I need to put the book down and turn off the light, but I can’t stop. Thankfully I have a deep sleeper for a husband who doesn’t mind that little light on. Most of the time.

Lastly — and here’s the biggest reason I am able to read so much — My house is a mess. I mean, it’s a disaster. I don’t clean it like I should. There are parts of my house that are just plain gross (*cough*bathroom*cough) because I refuse to clean someone else’s obvious mess. When it comes down to it, I look at the dishes sitting next to the sink and I look at my book sitting on the table, and I would rather read my book. So I do. It’s not like I never clean. And I make my children do chores and I don’t go back and redo it because I’m reading. If it’s going to be redone, they should have to. When faced with a decision, I always pick reading my book over doing chores.

And now you know my dirty little secret. I will never have a perfectly clean house because I choose books over scrubbing walls.

2 responses to “How I Do It

  1. I am in my forties and I choose sleeping and eating and shopping over chores. Sometimes I choose reading. I do feel guilty about the little amount that I do. I would even say that I cook dinner but sometimes I don’t even get that done. Really, now I am wondering what I do all day and I feel a little like a useless lump.

Leave a Reply

