Random Friday is now Random Thoughts Thursday

My neighbor had surgery yesterday, so she asked if I could take her kids to school and pick them up. No problem! I went to get her three kids, but only two got in the van. The third was walking home from a piano lesson. I talked with the mom for a couple of minutes, then said goodbye and drove off. I was out of the neighborhood and through the first major light when I suddenly stopped the car. “I forgot Harrison!!” Flipped a u-turn just as my cell phone started ringing. Oops. I was so distracted talking to my neighbor that I forgot she told me her son was coming and hadn’t gotten in the van yet.

And I wonder where it’s coming from when I get an email from Aiden’s teacher saying, “Have you thought about having Aiden tested for ADHD? He can’t focus and is easily distracted…”

*****

My birthday is in two days and there is a serious lack of chocolate boxes coming in the mail. I’m disappointed. 😉

*****

This year, during our winter break, we get to go to San Diego to visit my aunt and uncle. I’m super excited because it’s not that far a drive and we just haven’t done it since we’ve lived here. FOR SHAME! That and my aunt and uncle are just plain awesome and we all have a good time whenever we see them. We have plans to go to the San Diego Zoo, the Safari Park (I am not used to calling it that. It’s still the Wild Animal Park in my head!!), Balboa Park to the science center, La Jolla to see the seals, and I don’t remember what else. The biggest part is a surprise to the younglings. We’re taking them to a certain theme park (not the mouse theme park! I wish!!) that is in San Diego. It has to do with a certain kind of small building blocks… We’re not telling them a THING. We’re just going to get them up in the morning, get them dressed, and drive there. I will have to have my camera set on video for when we arrive and they see the sign. Oh, I’m excited. They have actually been asking to go for a while now and we just keep saying, “No, it’s too expensive.” or “No, we don’t have the time to take off and go there.” Can’t wait!! I know it’s not as exciting as the Magic Kingdom, but hey. That’ll be another trip, another time. We take what we can get. This will be grrrrreat (said in a Scottish accent, of course. Not Tony the Tiger).

*****

I was watching Netflix last night and started watching a movie called “From Prada to Nada”. It’s a modern day take on “Sense and Sensibility”. It was cute, just not what I wanted to watch. I mean, heck, the good version of S&S with Emma Thompson, Kate Winslet, and Hugh Grant is on Netflix. Why not just watch that? Anyway, I found it kind of amusing how this centered around a Latino family, so of course they had to change the daughters’ names from Maryanne and Elenor. Nora was a good fit. But the younger daughter was just Mary. Really? An Hispanic guy with THAT thick an accent is going to name his daughter Mary? Make it Maria and I’d find it more realistic. Just made me giggle. I might have to try watching the rest of it later today. It wasn’t bad. Just not great. I watched “Elizabeth” instead.

*****

Parker is determined he is going to be Thor when he grows up. “Then,” he says, “I can save you all the time, Mom!” What a sweetheart!

*****

How else is SO EXCITED for “The Hobbit” to come out?!?!?! I mean, sure, we have to wait a year. But that preview looks AAAAHHHHH. MAAAAAAAZE. INNNNNNNNG. I love Peter Jackson. I’m so glad he ended up doing this movie after all. Oh! And the guy playing Bilbo Baggins? He was Tim in the UK’s “The Office”. Nice. 🙂

*****

My new motto: Fake it ’til you make it.
Is it working??

6 responses to “Random Friday is now Random Thoughts Thursday

  1. So much to say! I hope I’m able to say it all. I don’t want one of my thoughts to be left behind like poor Harrison. (just teasing.)

    #1 We all get distracted. Don’t beat yourself up over it.
    #2 Do you have any discount tickets for said theme park based upon popular building blocks? Let me know ASAP because I have bogo tickets.
    #3 When did they change it from Wild Animal Park to Safari Park? Wierd.
    #4 I didn’t tell the boys where we were going when I took them to the above not-mentioned theme park. Fortunately for me, they happened to also not be looking as we approached. When I paid for my parking and the person in the tollbooth handed me a brochure which looked like a map, the boys said, “why would they give you a map to this cool theme park to which you’ll never take us?” It wasn’t until we parked under the sign that they figured it out. Priceless. I hope your boys have an equally surprising time.
    #5 They are also coming out with Hobbit-themed legoes. Wow. I’m excited, but my bankbook is already whimpering.
    #6 You’ve totally got me fooled with “fake it ’til you make it.”
    🙂

    • We do have discounts! My aunt has two coupons, and we have three “free child with purchased adult tickets”, so we will buy two adult tickets and get in three adults and three children. I think that’s the best we can do. 🙂

      I heard about the Hobbit and LOTR Legos and we couldn’t be more excited. We’re such geeks, I know.

      It changed to Safari Park about a year or so ago, I think? I don’t remember. There are all these good reasons for it. It’s just weird to me. Still.

      Faking it is the only way I can get through right now.

  2. I would LOVE to take my kids to the aforementioned theme park which shall not be named!!! Have a great time!

    Also, I’m so excited for The Hobbit movie! It will be hard to wait a year. The guy playing Bilbo was also Arthur Dent in Hitchhiker’s Guide, which makes me excited to see him as a Hobbit. I tried watching the UK Office, but couldn’t get into it. Maybe I’ll have to try again.

  3. Oh wow! That all sounds like so much fun. (Except for the note from the teacher. Have you dealt with that already, or are you still thinking about it?)

  4. If it makes you feel better Harrison saw you, but turned and quickly ran the other way to the house for fear you would pick him up and he wouldn’t get to give this mom a hug before her surgery. He was super grateful for the extra time to say a prayer with me before you showed up to get him. Maybe you were inspired to forget him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

