Anywhere But Here

I have an itch. I have often had this little itch, and it comes and goes. Lately, since my big trip to Switzerland, this itch has grown and just won’t leave. Now I have made the mistake of reading “My Life in France” by Julia Child and it’s making that itch worse and worse.

I want to live in Europe. For just a few years. Maybe permanently.

I want to experience something totally new. I want to learn a new language. I want to live the lifestyle of a European… one who enjoys life and family. Where stores close and people leave work at 5 pm. Where nothing is open on Sundays because it’s a family day. Where everyone rides a bike or walks where they need to go. Where public transportation is huge and works well, so you don’t need a car to get everywhere. Where exercise isn’t going to the gym and killing yourself, but just a part of daily life (the walking and bike riding…). Where food tastes amazing and people take the time to enjoy their meals. Where the scenery is just breath-taking, the architecture is amazing, the history is so alive…

There is so much more to it than that. I know it’s easily dismissed. I can’t explain it properly, but I have always felt this pull… I belong there. I want it. I need it.

The biggest problem is I am just a teacher and stay at home mom. And I married a teacher. It’s not like either of us have jobs that can get us transferred overseas for even a short time. And don’t tell me about DODS. I know how that works (believe me, I have looked into it!). They aren’t exactly looking for band directors to teach at these American schools. And it’s super hard to actually get Western Europe. (Asia apparently is easier).

So I will continue to read all about other people’s experiences and look at my pictures from Switzerland and England and try to remember my time in Norway and I’ll save and save and save and hopefully make another trip (this time with Ches) in the next 10 years or so… All the time wishing and hoping and dreaming for something that apparently I just can’t have. I’m kind of used to that anyway.

3 responses to “Anywhere But Here

  1. You’re right that your perspective of living in Europe is highly idealized, but who am I to judge? I have the same dream. It doesn’t help that right now we’ve got friends in London and friends in Manheim! Every once in a while Paul looks up job listings in Italy. 😉

  2. I’d like to move! and i’d like to leave the states. personally, i think everyone should live outside of the country of origin for one year, at least. we forget there is an entire world out there…

Leave a Reply

