10 Years

It’s been 10 years. I should probably write something poignant, reflective, somber, passionate, and meaningful. I probably should have made an effort to watch something on TV or attend a local remembrance ceremony. I probably should have taken the time to sit my children down and explain to them the significance of this day and why Mom is just so sad. The memories are still pretty fresh. I would never try to say that my experience with this day 10 years ago is anything compared to those of New York or Washington, DC. However, it was quite emotional at the time and for some reason I feel this strong emotional pull towards it today. It was a day I will always remember and I hope to never forget.

The thing is, I have sat my children down before. They know all about this day. Well, as much as I feel is necessary for such young children to know. I have mourned and continue to grieve for those lost on this day because of the massive amount of hate from another group of people. I mourn the loss of life. I mourn the loss of innocence. I mourn for the feeling of stability and security we (perhaps falsely) had before this day 10 years ago.

Today, however, I don’t feel up to it. I am just looking for tomorrow. And the next day. And the next day. And on and on as we continue to move forward and rebound. I loved what Cara said on Facebook today of using tomorrow to rise up and move forward by participating “in an act of kindness, an action of renewal, or a gesture of betterment.” That is what our country did so well starting on 9/12, and we should continue that. I remember being completely amazing at the spirit of the people of my country, not just in the shows of patriotism, but also in the unity of all people of this beautiful land, and how all people really did rise up. In the past 10 years we’ve lost that unity. We’ve become so divided over such trivial things. I want my children to know peace and security and happiness. And I want them to show others they know what kindness really is.

Yes, I remember 9/11. I want to live 9/12.

3 responses to “10 Years

Leave a Reply

