This Is How We Do It…

My life has gotten so busy all of a sudden! As of about 3 weeks ago, I am working with two different high school marching bands (the color guard, of course). One is right here, by my house. Yup, I’m working for my husband, again. The other is about half an hour away, in Tempe. I am working for my best friend’s brother, there. I have rehearsals Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday nights. Games on Friday (I flip flop so I can make it to all the home games). Soon, competitions will start, and those will take up my Saturdays. Add in all my other activities (church, cub scouts, Relief Society meetings, book club, volunteering, preschool) and my weeks look like this:

Monday:
Aiden to orchestra by 7:40 am.
Dallin and carpool to school at 8:30.
Parker to preschool at 11:45.
Pick up Parker at 1:45.
Boys are home by 4:15.
Dinner at 5:00
Leave for rehearsal by 5:45
Guard/band rehearsal in Tempe 6:30 to 9:30.
Get home by 10:30, and crash in bed.

Tuesday:
Boys up at 7:30 and drive the carpool at 8:30 am.
Dinner in the crockpot by noon.
Guard rehearsal in Tempe at 3 pm. Leave early at 4.
Dinner at 5.
Guard/band rehearsal here from 6 to 9 pm.
Home by 9:30, crash in bed.

Wednesday:
Aiden to orchestra by 7:40
Dallin and carpool off to school at 8:30
Parker to preschool at 11:45
Volunteer in Aiden’s classroom noon to 1:10.
Pick up Parker at 1:45
Guard rehearsal here 2:45 to 5:30. (Ches takes Parker and meets the boys at home and makes dinner)
Ches back at school at 5:30 for drumline. I take the boys home.
Dinner as soon as I get home.
Aiden to cub scouts at 6 pm.
Pick up Aiden at 7 pm.
Kids in bed at 8/8:30.
Ches home by 9:30. He crashes in bed. I finish up what I didn’t get done all day.

Thursday:
Aiden to orchestra by 7:40.
Dallin and carpool to school at 8:30.
Boys home by 4:15.
Teach flute lesson at 4:30.
Dinner at 5:30 or 6.
Relief Society meeting (once a month) at 6.
Book Club (once a month) at 8:30

Friday:
Kids to school at 8:30.
Parker to preschool at 11:45.
Pick up Parker at 1:45.
Kids home by 4:15.
Football call time about 5 pm.
Game starts at 7.
Home by 10:30
EVERYONE crashes in bed.

Saturday:
Competition days are usually an all day thing… up early, home late. Blech.

Sunday:
SLEEP IN.
Church at 1 pm to 3 pm.
Choir 3:15 to 4-ish.

It doesn’t look that bad when I put it all out there like that. It feels a TON worse. Of course, when I have those huge gaps of time where I’m not driving to rehearsal or dropping kids off to preschool, I’m making dinner ahead of time, doing laundry, cleaning the house, reading books (yes, I still make time to read!), and Facebooking (of course!). I feel like al I’m doing right now is running and running. I am so tired. And I’m not sleeping well at night.

I wanted to go to bed at 9 pm last night. Couldn’t get my body to relax. So I watched “Wild Target” on Netflix (loved it, by the way! It had Bill Nighy, Emily Blunt, Rupert Grint, and Rupert Everett in it) and drank some of my Swiss Caotina hot cocoa so I could relax. Went to bed about 11:30 pm. And I tossed and turned until at least 2:30 am. I. Am. Exhausted.

I have to plan my meals very carefully because I just don’t have time to sit every night and think, “What shall I make?” and I certainly don’t have the money to get takeout. Ever. Thankfully I have been introduced to the website Our Best Bites which is the yummiest food… and my kids have liked everything I have made from them so far!! It’s awesome!! Tuesday night is my Crock Pot night… and I’m thinking Wednesday night will either have to be another Crock Pot night or it will be pre-made, frozen dinner night. I haven’t figured out Wednesdays just yet. Friday night is a treat for the boys… I get them concession stand food. They love it.

I don’t have time to hang out at the park with the other moms after school anymore. Right now it’s fine because it’s so blasted hot (seriously, 115 degrees and up… We had 119 last week. MISERABLE!!), but I do miss talking to other adults. My life is all about my kids and high schoolers at the moment. Love them all, but I crave adult friendship. I don’t feel like I have much of that going on, but I’ve felt that the past 3 years, too. It’s just more severe right now.

The funny thing is, as much as I am stressed and busy, I wouldn’t want it different. Aiden loves orchestra and is so excited about playing the double bass. I love color guard and it’s so fun to be back in the game. And I get paid for it! Sweet! Dallin is in a new class and seems to be thriving in it. And Parker adores preschool. Overall, we’re all pretty happy with what we have going on. It’s hard, but we make it work.

3 responses to “This Is How We Do It…

  1. You go Sariah!! Busy, busy, busy. I can’t imagine the life of a high school band director. Not jealous really. But Holy Moley, you are going, going, gone. Have a great fall and I’ll see you sooner than later!

  2. Doesn’t look that busy? Are you kidding? I’m having an anxiety attack just reading your schedule! PLEASE take some time for yourself or I will die on your behalf.

Leave a Reply

