I Am A Liar

Anyone remember Alyson’s email address a few years ago? I do. It was “bigfatliar”. I thought it was pretty funny at the time. I think I need to take it over, now that she doesn’t use it anymore.

I am a liar.

I don’t mean to be. I don’t think most liars mean to be liars. We just fall into bad patterns. We are full of good intentions. You know what they say about good intentions, though. Apparently I’m on a path to Hell. Sigh.

I intend to keep up with my blog and write well. I tell everyone I’m going to blog at least once a week (but I’d like to go back to three times a week) and it’s going to be great. I’m going to work on my novel. I’m going to finish reading Dave’s novel. I’m going to deep clean my house. I’m going to walk at least four miles a day, every day. I’m going to practice my flute for an hour every day and the piano for at least half an hour. I’m going to finish watching “Firefly” so Ches and I can watch “Serenity”. I’m going to send random emails to my friends. I’m going to make my kids keep up with their writing and math skills all summer.

So far… nothin’. I am a liar.

But I’m working on it. I’m forcing myself to be honest and truthful and stick to my word. And when I don’t… feel free to call me on it. You guys who read my blog are my real friends… go for it. Call me out. I welcome it!

There now. I blogged. Now I’m going to go walking. And later I’m sending out a couple of emails. Seriously.

2 responses to “I Am A Liar

  1. ooooo–you’re sending emails??? I’ll be watching my inbox… haha

    I’m sooooooooooo the same way. I have LOTS of good intentions, but I’ve been failing on every front lately. Like right this minute I should be finishing an edit project and I’m reading blogs instead. Yep. And eating a cookie. Cuz I was TOTALLY going to win this weight loss competition! And the kids starting school for the summer? Oh that happened 2 days ago, like I happily posted that I was going to do on facebook (what did we get done? The kids colored a picture. aaaaaand that was it. ha! I really meant to do more, but I got distracted and they scattered like ants).

    Anyway, i hear ya! I’m a big liar too.

  2. You need to give yourself a break. You have too many things on your plate right now. In the past month it’s been so clear to me that every decision I make is a trade-off. Do I want to exercise? Yes. What will it take? Apparently skipping on dishes, laundry, and the family finances. Something has to give in order to make room for other things. Don’t be so hard on yourself!
    (in other words: we’re all liars, and misery loves company.)

Leave a Reply

