Just Another Manic… Wednesday?

It feels like today should be Monday. My morning was that great.

I woke up at 4:30 am and my arm was completely asleep because Parker had crawled into our bed and curled up with me. I had no idea. I took him back to his bed and discovered a kind of ringing in my ear. I say it’s a ringing, because it has that same feel, but the sound isn’t a ringing sound. It’s more like white noise. Sometimes it sounds like radio static and sometimes it almost sounds like a slight buzzing of bugs and chirping crickets. It overwhelms me. It took me almost and hour to get back to sleep. It is now almost 2:30 in the afternoon and that ringing is still there. It’s driving me crazy!

My alarm went off at 7 am, but because I was so tired I hit snooze. At 7:10, I forgot the alarm had already gone off and I hit snooze again. At 7:20, I convinced myself to actually get up. I had to take a shower before the boys got up, and I usually wake them up at 7:30. By the time I got out of the shower and dressed myself, it was 7:45. Thankfully the boys got right up and ate breakfast quickly.

Because of Parker’s field trip, I had to make two extra lunches today. I was running around trying to get everything together and find water bottles, etc., and trying to convince the boys they don’t need me to do every little thing for them. They still haven’t figured that out. Grumble, growl.

We had our morning prayer at 8:25. I was driving to school this morning and planning on going straight to the zoo from there. We were supposed to meet Parker’s class at 9:30. I still hadn’t had breakfast, so I grabbed a banana. It took several minutes to get out the door, so we didn’t leave our house until 8:35. Not cool.  I picked up the carpool kids, and one of them mentioned that today is Picture Day.

I forgot.

My kids were dressed, but in just whatever t-shirts and I hadn’t even bothered with their hair! So we sped home and I ran inside the house. I grabbed the first “nice” shirts I could find that didn’t need ironing and a new pair of shorts for Dallin that would actually match, ran back to the van, threw the clothes at the boys, and said, “Change in the car!” Poor Rachel had to cover her eyes for the majority of the ride to school. At least Aiden and Dallin are decently dressed. I asked Aiden to go to the bathroom sometime this morning and run water through his hair with his fingers in the hopes of making it more presentable. Oh well. We just won’t buy those pictures, I suppose.

I dropped the kids off at school right after the first bell rang at 8:50. They ran in before they had to check in as tardy. Ugh. I’m pretty sure they all made it.

The road I normally drive up has a lot of construction, but there is another road that will go straight up to the 60, so I decided that would probably be quicker. I wasn’t sure we’d make it by 9:30, so this was my best shot. Until I discovered there was a major accident. Add the normal traffic congestion from the ASU students… and we were being diverted… back to the road with all the construction that I was hoping to avoid.

At 9:10, just as I was entering the 60, and right after I almost had an accident by cutting someone off that I just didn’t see (my bad!! I’m still so sorry!!), I called Parker’s preschool teacher to say we were running late and wouldn’t be meeting everyone else. Luckily for us, we were going to have to go through the normal Zoo entrance because I have a membership. Sigh.

We made it to the Zoo at 9:35. Not bad timing!!

The rest of the day went well. We had tons of fun at the Zoo. We saw giraffes, zebras, monkeys, a wallaby, flamingos, turtles, and elephants. We even got to pet sting rays at Sting Ray Bay. That was so fun!! Parker rode on the carousal twice and spent lots of time playing in the treehouse play area and at a rope web (he says he’s Spiderman). We both had a great time. And now… I need a nap.

2 responses to “Just Another Manic… Wednesday?

  1. What a GREAT way to start a morning! 😉 I’m glad it at least ended well! I’m a little jealous that you have a zoo so close. And a nap? DO IT!

  2. I need a nap just for reading this. Wow, what a crazy morning! (And I cannot believe school starts so late for you — Red’s got to be in the gate by 8:05.)

    Also, what’s with having picture day twice a year? What a ridiculous waste of educational time if you ask me. I don’t pay any attention to what he looks like on the day of the spring photos, I’m not going to buy them anyway.

Leave a Reply

