Confessions of a Bookaholic

You all know how much I love to read. I talk about it enough, don’t I? Did you know that I also love (and I mean love) to see movies? If I could go to a movie every night of the week… well, maybe that’s still a bit much. But if I could go to a movie almost every night of the week, I could die happy. I love movies like I love books. They transport me to another world and another identity. I get completely involved in the movie. I like all kinds of movies, too. I like chick-flicks, dramas, comedies, indie films, foreign language films, action, fantasy, family, animated, musicals, adaptations, and any combination of these categories. Pretty much the only films I won’t watch are horror (I seriously get scared and can’t stomach it, no matter how “unscary” the film actually is).

I’ve discussed in the past how I love all different books. I will read anything and everything. I have a hard time not liking books, and when I don’t like something I’ve read it means that I really don’t like it. In fact, I end up hating it.

When my favorite books get made into a movie I hover between all-out excitement and all-out apprehension, bordering on complete horror. I know that some movies made from books are absolutely wonderful (such as The Lord of the Rings series, or Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth… yummy.) and some movies made from books are actually better than the book (Forest Gump), but most of the time the movie just never measures up to the book. I am usually able to keep the movie and the book in two separate compartments in my brain so I don’t end up hating the movie of a book I love and had high hopes for. Harry Potter is a perfect example of that.

I finally got to see Confessions of a Shopaholic yesterday (found it at the library, so I didn’t even have to rent it! Woot!). Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite authors because her books are light, witty, and just all-around fun to read. Confessions of a Shopaholic was my first Kinsella book and I immediately fell in love with the main character, Becky Bloomwood. She is a flawed character, but still so lovable, funny, kind, silly, clutzy, and loyal to her family and friends. Pretty much the formula for every Kinsella main character. When I first saw the movie trailer for CoaS, I had those old, familiar feelings of apprehension and excitement. Becky Bloomwood would make such a lovely movie character! She has such funny things happen to her, how could you not love a movie about her? But, and here’s a big but from me, in the books she lives in London and is British (except for the second book where she briefly lives in New York) and in the movie she is American, living in New York. Being an anglophile… WHY?? No one changed Harry Potter into a surly American kid? No one changed Bridget Jones into an (actually fat) American girl. WHY did you movie execs have to mess with Becky?? (And isn’t it ironic that they cast a British actress to play this American character who should actually be British? It’s like both the actress and the character are putting on accents! Okay, maybe that’s just me.)

In the movie I was disappointed at how shallow and self-centered Becky appeared. By the end we finally saw the Becky I love from the book. But it took the entire movie. Sure, they kept in some of my favorite things (Suze and Tarquin; calling her nemesis “Alicia B*@$# Longlegs”; having such adorable, if slightly crazy, parents), but that fun, lovable feel from the book just wasn’t there. Nope. Won’t be seeing that movie again. I’ll certainly read the books again. But not see the movie. Chalk it up to another failed book to movie adaptation.

Next up, Aiden has asked me to take him to the new Narnia movie, Voyage of the Dawn Treader. He’s reading the books now, and loving them. He loves the first two Narnia books. I just read online that a bit of the plot is being changed in this movie. Hopefully he won’t react like I do to movie adaptations.

4 responses to “Confessions of a Bookaholic

  1. I have never seen Confessions of a Shopaholic. I thought it looked like a good movie from the trailers, but then again, I haven’t read the books either. I am excited to see The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. (I always want to pronounce it like tree-der for some strange reason.) I still haven’t watched Prince Caspian yet, so that is coming first! I will have re-read the book because it’s been so long since I have read it!

  2. I haven’t read the book either, and almost watched the movie, but haven’t yet. Is it one of those, that, had you not read the book first, would have been a pretty good movie? Like Percy Jackson? I love to read and watch movies too, but I’m not near the officianado that you are. I bow at your feet, oh mighty one!

    • “So bow down! Bow down to the queen of refuse, the queen of filth”… wait. Not where I wanted to go.

      I think it still would have been a cute movie, but I seriously didn’t like Becky at the beginning of the movie. I liked her from the start of the book. So basically it’s a cute but forgettable chick flick.

      Percy Jackson would have been a fine movie if they didn’t have such great material to already pull from BUT DIDN’T. Argh. I hate it when they completely change the plot.

  3. I’ve discovered with books I love being turned into movies, the movies are more enjoyable if I make sure I don’t reread the book just before going to see the movie. If I let at least a couple months go between reading the book and seeing the movie, then I can let go and enjoy the movie more.

    I saw Confessions of a Shopaholic. I remember liking it, but then, I haven’t read the book. Oh, another movie that I think is actually better than the book: The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott. Of course, I saw the movie before ever reading the book, so maybe that had something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

