Here We Go Again

At the request of Alyson (and all of you who “liked” her FB status), the Chocolate Phoenix is rising again. You knew it was bound to happen.

In October I drove myself and the three boys 17 hours up to Boise, Idaho to attend the wedding of one of my younger brothers. My boys did well on the drive. I am more than pleased with them. It was fun getting to see my siblings and I had a blast hanging out and getting reacquainted with my one brother, Charles. He is awesome. The wedding ceremony was beautiful. Allen (the groom) was handsome and actually cried. Emily (the bride) was radiant.

And that’s all I’m going to talk about the wedding because I’m really upset (still) about driving that far to never actually get to meet my new sister-in-law, for the photographer to not bother to even try to take pictures of Allen’s family, to feel left out of a LOT of the wedding stuff because I’m just a half-sister, or to have not been able to see the cake being cut, the boquet tossed, the garter tossed, or the first dance because I was outside (with ALL of the groom’s siblings and nieces and nephews) decorating the car. It felt like I drove 17 hours to decorate a car. Yes, I’m mad. There’s a lot more detail I could go into, and I know I need to get over it, but since I spent $500 in gas just to go to the wedding and now don’t have the money to buy my kids Christmas presents because we have been in the hole every paycheck since spending that money… yeah, I’m mad and bitter. I’ll get over it eventually.

After the wedding my father, my sister (and her three sons) and my in-laws came to attend the baptism of Aiden. Aiden looked extremely handsome in his suit and was so excited to have two of his grandfathers present to be the witnesses for his baptism. We are so proud of Aiden for the decision he made. And yes, it was his decision to be baptized. It was fun to have so many people visiting. My kids absolutely loved it.

A few weeks after everyone left, my mom came out for a visit. She specifically came to watch the kids so I could attend two marching band competitions with Ches. My boys love to have grandma come visit. She always brings interesting things and tells stories and reads books to them. She pushes them on the swing at the park and takes them on walks. They love Grandma.

I have lately been involved a lot in the church choir. Our new ward choir director is amazing. She is a concert pianist and a professional vocalist. I am learning so many things by being in the choir. I have also been singing in the stake choir, getting ready for a community Christmas concert we’re putting. We are singing a John Rutter piece that is as beautiful as it is hard. If you have ever sung John Rutter, you’ll know what I’m talking about. That piece is going to be accompanied by a string orchestra, which Ches is directing. I am in charge of a flute choir that will be playing, and Ches is also putting together a brass quintet to perform. There will be other soloists and small groups, and I’m excited about this program.

I started to write for NaNoWriMo again. I stopped. Just couldn’t do it again this year.

I stood in line all day and saved seats and met cool people and wore a Gryffindor shirt and scarf and got to see “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1” at the midnight showing on opening night. So worth it!!! Ches and I have been saving for that and waiting for that. I will do it again for Part 2 on July 15th. And hey, anyone else see the preview for “Cowboys Vs. Aliens”? We could NOT stop laughing.

I have had some personal issues going on, however, that has kept me from my blog. I apologize for that. I’m trying to sort things out and get back into the game. I haven’t been myself, and I’m not proud of what I have turned into. I’m working on it, and it will get better. It has to. I can’t get worse. I can’t let it. I can’t talk about it here because it scars the crap out of me to let any of it actually be out there for just anyone to read, you know? I mean, I know I don’t have a ton of readers, but this is not something I just want floating around. Many of you already know what’s going on, and if you don’t, well, ask. I might just email you and let you know. Might.

So… that’s what’s been going on! Now you know. And now back to your regularly scheduled programming…

7 responses to “Here We Go Again

  1. I love it when you blog!

    They didn’t wait to do all the cool stuff at the wedding until you guys got back?! And you didn’t get to meet your sis-in-law?! Wow, that seriously stinks.

    I soooooooooooooooooooooo want to see Aiden’s baptism photos!!!!!!!

    And email me back about the personal issues or I’ll take away your sticker for the day……… 😉

  2. Oh Sariah… I know exactly how you feel. I can’t seem to get myself back into the saddle of writing everything down again either. and as for personal issues, well, just know you aren’t alone there either…

  3. Sariah – I could’ve written those same words: ” I haven’t been myself, and I’m not proud of what I have turned into. I’m working on it, and it will get better.” I’ve been struggling with some things too. You are not alone! So, I don’t know what’s going on with you, but I’ll pray for you and ask that you pray for me! Deal? (Feel free to email if you want to vent)

Leave a Reply

