It’s Oh, So Quiet

I love going walking late at night because when I come home everyone is asleep and the house is quiet and peaceful. Not that my kids aren’t peaceful. Okay, they aren’t. They are three loud, active, excitable, rambunctious kids. The house doesn’t feel much peace when everyone is awake and running around all crazy like. I love my kids and I love their noise (most of the time). But I also cherish quiet. Stillness. Peace.

After walking 3 or 4 miles, I need time to cool down. I’m wide awake and can’t get to sleep. I don’t like to turn on the TV this late and disturb the peace. So what do I do? Of course I spend a few moments catching up on Facebook (I am seriously addicted. Something has to change there!) but then I usually read. I read for far too long, until I can’t keep my eyes open anymore and I’m thinking about how early I have to get up to get the boys ready for school, but I still don’t want to put the book down.

I like books. I mean, I really like books. Even if I’m not nearly as invested in a particular story as I think I should be, I still manage to find enough about it that I tell myself how much I love the book. I very rarely give poor ratings to what I read on Goodreads because I really just enjoy being able to read something and being transported to another time or place.

I take my books too much to heart. I know I’ve been reading too much Maeve Binchey when I’m angry at my husband for no reason and think he’s going to cheat on me. (Love Maeve Binchey, but really… why does every main female character get cheated on by the main male character??) I know I’m reading too much Jane Austen when I start to refer to my husband as Mr. Chocolate Phoenix, not as Ches. I’m reading too much period literature when I find myself in awe of toilets, fresh clothing, and driving to pick my kids up from school. It’s good to have variety.

I went to the library today and finally found The Girl With The Pearl Earring. I’ve been hoping to find that one for months. I also got Austenland, by Shannon Hale because I love Shannon Hale, I want something just fun and enjoyable to read, and I’ve read it before and know I will have a good time. The third book I picked out is Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laura Viera Rigler. Yes, I picked it out for the title. I’m waiting for Water For Elephants, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, all of which a friend is loaning me. And I have Orange Is The New Black on hold at the library. It says I’m next in the queue. I think I’m pretty varied in the books I read. I like to change things up a bit so I don’t get stuck in a rut (like reading too much Maeve Binchey at once!). The last several books I read were Holes by Louis Sachar, some of the Confessions of a Shopaholic series, The Lady and The Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier, Night by Eli Wiesel, and The Kite Runner. See? No rhyme or reason to what I read. I just like to read.

I love to read at night when there is no one trying to interrupt me. Sometimes I read in bed. Ches got me a little lamp for my nightstand so I can do just that. But I feel guilty when I’m still reading at 1 am and I know his alarm goes off at 5 am. So usually I just sit on the couch in the loft and read. Sometimes I sit on the comfy couch downstairs and read, but I can’t see a clock down there so then I’m really up until 1 or 2 am… and often later.

Tonight I got home and only the light above the dinner table was on. I came upstairs to find Aiden asleep on the couch in the loft. Parker is asleep in my bed, with Ches. I hate to disturb people, but I need my cool off, escape time. So maybe I’ll just head back downstairs and let everyone stay where they are. I have a date with Tracy Chevalier.

7 responses to “It’s Oh, So Quiet

  1. I want to know how you like The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I got it from the library a few weeks ago but didn’t get past the first 30 pages before it was due. I’ve heard its good. But it was soooooooo boring. I guess I need more sleep before embarking on a book like that. Let me know at what point the book gets good. Maybe I’ll attempt it again later. Or use it as a treadmill book. I have to read when I’m on the treadmill or it seems like time slows down to nearly a halt!

    • I am a little apprehensive about Dragon Tattoo because I have heard such differing opinions on it. Some love the writing, some can’t stand the brutality. And it is quite a popular book right now. I often feel like I’m just following a crowd by reading what everyone else is reading, but then I feel like I’m missing out if I haven’t read what everyone else is reading. And I want everyone to read what I’m reading so I have people to talk to about it. I LOVE to discuss what I’m reading. I don’t get to do it enough.

  2. You sound like me. There’s no rhyme or reason to what I read either. I just finished three totally random books I picked up at the library, plus a YA fiction that Vicki insisted I read, and now I’m reading Packing for Mars by Mary Roach. It’s nonfiction, which usually sends me running the other direction, but she’s hilarious, so I can handle it. Also, Maeve Binchy is soooo addictive, but, yeah, she needs to try something other than the being-cheated-on angle.

    • What else has Mary Roach written? Her name is familiar. I rarely read nonfiction (even memoirs usually drive me batty), but every now and then I am pleasantly surprised. And it’s your fault I’m addicted to Maeve Binchey. I first saw “Circle of Friends” in your apartment, and you said, “Love this movie, the book is SO much better!” so of course I had to read the book. And yeah, I love the movie (it’s got Chris O’Donnell, for heaven’s sake!! I have been in love with him since I was 17!!), but the book IS so much better. And then I had to read another Binchey, then another, then… now I have about 10 Binchey books on my shelf and have read everything she’s written. šŸ™‚ Thanks.

  3. Austenland is such a fun light read! I re-read it just the other day when I was in the mood for something light and fun. I so LOVE Shanon Hale. I love that you love to read. I love to read too. Though I’ve been in the mood for new stuff and I haven’t made it to the Library and I SO want to go to a book store, but I haven’t found the time – nor do I know where they are here yet (SHOCKING!). So, you have just made me CRAVE reading even more. Time to put some books on hold at the library and hope they come in fast. šŸ™‚

  4. I used to have more eclectic reading habits, but lately I’ve started to specialize very narrowly on Scandinavian and British crime novels, with a bit of Urban Fantasy (vampires, werewolves, and such) thrown in. So when I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo it wasn’t because everyone else was reading it. It was because it fit perfectly with my “specialty”. In fact, I only heard about the book at first because I was discussing Henning Mankell, and someone asked if I’d read any Stieg Larsson.

    That’s weird that you identify Maeve Binchy with cheating husbands. I identify her with a sort of “rosy” view of the world. The narrator tells the story as if everything is sweet and quaint and wonderful, even when talking about cheating husbands, failing businesses, the declining relevance of the parish priest, etc. It never feels “real” to me. It’s like the narrator is on happy pills or something.

  5. So, Sariah – you inspired me and I picked up a book at Target that sounded SO intriguing and I’m nursing my kid induced headache away by reading (most of them were sent to bed early for bad behavior, etc.) in the quiet with a baby snuggled on my chest (well, at the moment the baby is laying beside me and I have Liz’s flute sitting on my chest – there’s a screw loose and .. anyway I digress) So yeah. The book is called Impossible and so far it’s great and I’ll let you know, because I think you would like it.

Leave a Reply

