Gimp

I have been walking late at night with my neighbor and friend, Kim. We go out almost every night, leaving between 9 and 10 pm (all depending on husbands’ work schedules, RS activities, soccer practices, etc.), and we average 3 to 6 miles a night. Kim decided to sign us up for a little Biggest Loser challenge. It’s 12 weeks long. I made my goal to lose 2 lbs a week. Because of the walking we’ve been doing, I lost 2.4 lbs the first week. WOOT!! I didn’t even change my diet or anything. That was JUST walking, my friends. So excited. I like this walking stuff.

Wednesday night, I got home from walking and had to finish up some laundry so Ches could wear clean pants to work in the morning. I was finishing up the load I needed, so by now it was about 1 am. I ran upstairs to get an empty basket, then came back downstairs to go to the laundry “room” (the garage). At the bottom of the stairs, someone left a wooden sword. I didn’t see it, stepped on it, and twisted my ankle. I fell to the ground, crying. I have never hurt my ankle like that!! The worst part was that no one was awake to check on me or give me any sympathy. So sad.

All day Thursday I was in a lot of pain. My ankle was a little swollen in the morning, but I didn’t think much of it. By afternoon, I was in even more pain, so I lay on the couch with an ice pack. Kim came over to pick up her daughter, who I’d been tending. I told her about my ankle, and when I took the ice pack off, I realized how much my ankle had swollen. It was huge. Bigger than a golf ball, yet smaller than a tennis ball. (I can’t think of anything to compare it to. Sorry.) There was no bruising, just the swelling in that spot. Kim offered to wrap my foot for me, and when she looked at my ankle, she said, “Ummm, I think this is broken.” Grrrr…

So I called the doctor’s office and made an appointment for Friday morning. Kim wouldn’t let me drive to the doctor (in case it was broken), so she drove me and watched Parker in the waiting room. The doctor said the same thing as Kim. Because there was no bruising and only swelling in the one spot, and because there was only pain where there was swelling, it was most likely a fracture. He sent me off with orders to get x-rays done. And he made me sit in a wheelchair out to the car. Kim had to go into the imaging place and have them bring out a wheelchair for me. Grrrr…

I don’t like wheelchairs. They feel silly and unnecessary. That’s just me, I know. I just don’t like them.

So we sat around in the imaging place for probably an hour before I got called back for my x-rays. That took all of ten minutes, and I was wheeled back out to Kim’s van. Kim took me to her house for lunch while we waited for the doctor to call back. With instructions. He had already given me the prescription for crutches (which I’m not spending money on unless I absolutely need to) and said I would probably have to come back in once he read the x-rays so they could set me in a splint or something. Grrrr…

Finally, about at almost 3 pm, the doctor’s assistant called and said there was no fracture, just swelling. It’s just a bad sprain (which is kind of weird since there was no bruising…) so my instructions were to stay off my feet until the swelling goes down and there is no pain. And it’s probably a good idea to go ahead and use the crutches. Well, I didn’t get the crutches.

I had it in my head that it will be a couple of days and I”ll be back to normal. Yeah. I spent most of Saturday and Sunday with my foot up and just trying to rest it. It’s still swollen. It’s still in pain. It’s going to take me a lot longer than a couple of days to fully heal. Or at least heal enough to function.

And the worst part? I can’t walk. Now to lose weight I’m actually going to have to diet. Grrrrr…

4 responses to “Gimp

  1. when I was pregnant with Chloe I fell down our stairs and thought I broke my ankle, it swelled, bruised, and was shooting pain all the way up my leg. Vince took me to the hospital and they did an x-ray, nothing, no break, and just an old fracture. They gave me a walking boot, that helped and I thought it was WAY better than crutches. maybe that’s something they can give you a RX for. Hope you get feeling better.

  2. I’ve sprained my ankles more times than I can count! So sorry for the pain I know you are suffering! I hope it heals quickly!

  3. That is such a bummer! Hope you feel better soon. My ankles are a mess (the main reason my nickname is goofy is because I could be walking on a totally flat surface and twist my ankle and fall – most humorous once the pain subsided). I’ve gotten to the point where my ankles don’t even bother swelling anymore – they hurt like the dickens when I twist/sprain them but they don’t swell. Sigh. Anyway, here’s hoping you recover quickly!

Leave a Reply

