Running Away?

I have decided that I am now a runner.

This is a big deal. I hate running. I mean, I really, really hate running. Always have. I have bad knees (have had since I was 9 years old). I’m fat now, so I have hip problems. I get winded easily. I get migraines easily.

However, I’m tired of being so fat and being so winded and of just not feeling good about myself. I hear that you have to push to get past a certain point and then running is just enjoyable. I honestly think that’s just bull, but I’m willing to try. I’m not going out with the intention of running a marathon. I’m just trying to do something different that’s good for me and will make me a better person.

And yes, I want to be skinny again. I don’t know if this will do it (I understand I have to change my diet as well as exercise), but it can’t hurt, right?

Wait. Actually, it will hurt. Running hurts. I hate running. But I’m going to do it anyway. I have a plan for when I’m going to start (it’s going to be another month or two so it’ll be cool enough for me to run without me feeling like I’m going to die of heatstroke), and I have a time (Monday and Wednesday mornings while Parker is in preschool). Until I can start doing that, I’m walking at night with a friend, and that should help get me a bit more active again.

The thing about getting into shape and losing weight is that you have to be so completely invested in it. You have to be strict about your diet (and I’m not talking about a diet where you are denying yourself of anything. I’m talking about what food and the amount of food you actually put into your mouth. Not going on a diet, but your actual diet.) and you have to be strict about being active. I am so tired of hearing about how I should go to a gym x number of hours a week and do x number of hours of strength training and x number of cardio and have a personal trainer to make sure I’m getting everything… I can’t do that! 1) I don’t have that kind of money, and B) I don’t have that kind of time.

Running is free. There are sidewalks and paths all around where I live. I am lucky enough to live in a state that has such beautiful winters and I can be outside, running, during the day. I don’t have time with the raising of my kids and playing in an orchestra to go to the gym at night, and I’m not a morning person so I can’t go to the gym in the morning before Ches leaves at school (besides, marching band starts at 6 am. I would have to get up at a horrific time in the morning to go wherever I needed to go, workout, and get home in time for him to leave in time for school. So not happening!!). I have two kids in school all day and one in preschool all morning. I can take the time to work out then.

I have a good friend that is a nutritionist. I have already talked to her a bit, and she is going to help me be more accountable for what I’m eating. I want to do this the right way.

I will probably grumble and growl a lot. No, not probably. I will grumble and growl a lot. But once I start seeing results and I start feeling good about what I’m doing, perhaps that will change. I’ll let you know.

Most of all, wouldn’t it be great to be a good example for my kids. They need to see their mother take care of herself and be able to run and keep up with them. Yes, I want to be skinny, but even more I want to be a better mother. Taking care of myself physically is one of the best ways I can be better mother, right?

13 responses to “Running Away?

  1. Lots of luck to you! I know you will be a great runner – just take it slow and don’t give up when it gets hard. A year ago I could barely run for 20 minutes and now I’m training for a marathon. You can do it!

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m nervous to start (have I mentioned I hate running??), but I do want to get to a point where it’s just natural for me to go out and run or jog. I will be taking a timer and starting a few minutes at a time. Hoping that will do it.

  2. You’re very welcome! I love your blog! Trust me, when I started out the only things I could think about is “I hate this and how much longer do I have to do this?” Once you get a little more comfortable, you will value the time you have to yourself to think. Run walking is great, too. I have a friend that loves it – she does 3 mins run, 1 min walk – and did a whole marathon that way! Another thing that I had to get over was feeling like I had to go faster for the benefit of passers by. Just forget all that. Just do what you can do, and the rest will come. And trust me, all of us out there were beginners at one point – don’t stress!

  3. Good for you! I hate running too, and always have, but I want to “be a runner” someday. That starts, of course, with actually running and I’m not there yet. But someday I’ll pull from your example and I will be. Good luck! (and you can complain to me all you want.)

  4. Good for you! I’m not a fan of running either,I get really bad shin splints. but I’ve been wanting to do a 5k just to say I’ve done one and to feel like I’ve accomplished something. I found this 6 week calendar to train for a 5k. and thought I’d try it, seems pretty easy and supposedly by the end you can run the entire thing, I like that it’s a combination of running and walking. So I thought I’d try it even if I end up not running a race. Here’s the link you can check it out, just download the beginner training plan
    http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/running/training-schedules/run-first-5k/?sssdmh=dm17.463390&esrc=nwftn&email=440437580r training plan.

    Good luck running! see you in a few months and we can show off our smoking hot new bodies! 😉

  5. I myself used to HATE running. My motto? “Who runs for *fun*?!” And then I read the book “Marathoning for Mortals” by John Bingham. (I think that’s how you spell his last name…) It is not necessarily about running. a. marathon. It’s about setting a goal, starting to work on that goal and getting the tools necessary to reach that goal. It is written in “regular” language. Not weird, technical, talk down to you words that I have found in so many other training books. I have even read it a couple of times. Hopefully your library will have it. If not, let me know and I will send you my copy. It also includes nutrition tips. If you ever want to chat about running, nutrition, losing weight, whatever, just drop me a line and we can get a discussion going. I am by NO MEANS a pro, I just have gone through my own journey and am totally open about sharing it. Way to put it all out there and being proactive to make some changes in your life!!

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll go look for it at the library this week. I’m just ready to do something new and something good for myself. And by putting it out there for everyone to see, I’m hoping that will make me that much more accountable. We’ll see. 😉

  6. Way to go!!! I’m not a runner either. I’ve still got two weeks of being a sloth-like waddler before I can even get the possibility of exercise in my head (yeah, cuz I’m going to be on my A-game as soon as the baby gets here…) 😛

    But, come fall, I’m with ya. I’m getting in shape too!

  7. If you don’t take it slow and consistent (by that I mean running more than once a week) you will get injured like me. Then you won’t be running and then you will miss it. I still don’t enjoy it. I need people to distract me from the pain. However, music helps with the distracting if no one is around.

    The thing I am having a problem with is crediting myself for what I do. The fact that I go out is really amazing. More than half my city isn’t doing that. I also need to accept the label as runner. Even though I am not as good as I wish I could be I am still doing it.

    I hope these insights into some areas that could make you want to quite will help you. Just keep running, Just keep running and when you can’t walk. You have to get back to your car or home somehow.

  8. i remember watching a video… like in 6th grade (LOL) of this woman who was almost 300 pounds, and she just up and decided she, too, was a runner. her first morning run started at the front door and ended at the mailbox where she had to sit for quite awhile before she could muster the energy to drag herself back to the house. by the end of the video, she was running 5 miles pretty regularly and it was difficult believing it was the same person.

    what i’m saying is… make it to the mailbox. (or wherever… but recognize small steps are successes, too!)

  9. You go girl. I’m so proud of you. Do you love having a few free mornings? You’ll have to post some before and after pictures. Also, if you need a break from running, try Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred DVD…it’s short and really works you.

Leave a Reply

