Sandy Eggo

Guess what?? In 9 days I will be in San Diego. I get to go visit my wonderful aunt for 5 whole days and do lots of fun things like visit the Old Globe Theatre (there is some Elizabethan thing going on so of COURSE we’re going), a trip to the Zoo (a visit to San Diego isn’t complete without going to either the Zoo or the Wild Animal Park), and a day at the Del Mar Fair. We will probably see a movie or two, do some shopping, eat too much junk, and generally just have a great time.

Did I mention I’m going ALL BY MYSELF?? I am! No husband. No kids. I love my kids, but I sure need a break. I have never been away from my kids for that long. I have spent three days away from them, and a week with the kids without Ches (done that a couple of times), but never so much time without any of them. I can’t believe I get to go be spoiled by aunt! I’m so excited! It’s going to be so so so so much fun! I get to sleep by myself and not hear “MomMomMomMomMom” 50 bajillion times a days. I get to eat breakfast without being asked if I can share. I get to sit without having someone have to come sit on me. I get to have uninterrupted girl time (although yes, we’ll spend lots of time with my uncle, too, who I love and is also awesome!). It’s gonna be a blast.

I’m also taking bets on how long it will take before I miss my kids so much I cry.

5 responses to “Sandy Eggo

  1. There’s always that balance when you are away from your kids, isn’t there? It will probably take you two days before you start thinking about missing them. Not sure how long it will take until you feel like you could cry, though. That never happens to me. πŸ˜‰

  2. I don’t think you will cry unless you are irrational like me and the very first take off you think, “What will happen to them if I die? I love them so much, I hope they never forget me.” But its not your first time on a plane so you’ll do fine.

    After that you will only miss them in the sense that you see something cool that Aiden will like and you think to yourself, “Wow Aiden would really like that. Sure wish he could see that.” Or you see something that you think Dallin would like to climb on or Parker would like to jump on. Then you eat some food that you know Ches would like. Then you think of the cost of bringing the whole family out and you think that will never happen… too bad they aren’t here.

    I think because you know that you have such a short time away and you will definitely be seeing them again there will be hardly any missing at all. Enjoy your time it is so fleeting.

  3. LUCKY!!!!! I’d LOVE some time by myself, although I guess I did have a babysitter tonight, but more then a few hours I can’t even imagine!!! Have fun!! and I’ll bet you’ll start to miss them the 2nd full day without them…..you should do a poll. πŸ˜‰

  4. Have a GREAT time! You won’t cry, you’ll be too busy having fun. But you may, more than once, turn around and say, “did you see that big garbage truck/do you hear the train?”

    btw, Paul calls it “Sandy Eggo” all the time, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

