Worry Wart

It’s probably nothing. They just want to double check, I’m sure. It’s good to get it checked and double checked, especially with our family history. I wish I had been told after the second set of scans and the second mammogram, however. I hate not knowing. It’s not even me. It’s my mom. I can’t think about any what ifs right now. Actually, I can think about them. That’s all I’m thinking about. Like I said, I wish I hadn’t been told that a second round was being ordered until after it was done. I can deal with whatever the results say. It’s the not knowing that is killing me.

In other news, I found out recently (before I heard from my mom, as a matter of fact) that my health insurance does not cover mammograms. I’m probably okay for another couple of years, but if I was at a higher risk, I would need to get one done now. With my family history, I have been recommended to get one now (I need to sit down with my doctor, however, and discuss). I don’t qualify for any of the free mammogram programs because I’m not over 40. It’s crazy. How does an insurance carrier NOT cover a mammogram??

Update: I just heard from my sister that Mom had the second set of mammograms and everything is just fine. I was right. Nothing to worry about. Even though I still worried.

9 responses to “Worry Wart

  1. I am so so so glad you updated and said your mom is ok. I went through a similar scare with my mom about 4 years ago. I hope that your doctor can help come up with a creative solution to work around your health insurance.

  2. So sorry that you had to worry! So sorry that it is in your family history and that you always kindof have to worry! And the insurance thing….GRRRRR!!! I’m so glad that your mom is ok, though!

  3. So glad to hear everything is okay! (Benefits of catching up on blogs really late?)

    The insurance doesn’t cover mamograms? Ugh. Don’t even get me started on insurance … argh …

  4. That is good that they double checked. I deal with so many patients who find out they have cancer and it is already stage IV. The earlier you diagnose cancer, the better your odds of survival are.

    I cannot believe that your insurance doesn’t cover mammograms either. My insurance doesn’t if you are under 40. I had one done because I felt a lump in my monthly self-exam. My doctor had to go through a bunch of hoops to get them to cover it. Thankfully, it was nothing.

Leave a Reply

