12 Years and Counting

Yesterday Ches and I celebrated our 12th anniversary. I can’t believe it’s been 12 years because even though it sounds so cliche, it really does feel like we just got married. I started thinking about all that we’ve been through since we got married and came up with these handy personal stats for you. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

In the past 12 years, we’ve lived at 11 addresses:
6 apartments
1 duplex
1 friend’s basement
3 houses

We’ve lived in 4 states:
Idaho
Utah
Arizona
Nevada

We’ve attended 3 colleges and universities:
Ricks College
University of Idaho
University of Nevada, Reno

We’ve earned 4 degrees:
Associate in Arts and Sciences (Music): Ches
Bachelor of Music in Music Education (Secondary Instrumental): Sariah
Bachelor of Music in Music Education (Secondary Instrumental): Ches
Master’s of Music in Music Education: Ches

We’ve had three sons:
Aiden (2001)
Dallin (2005 – on our 7th anniversary!)
Parker (2006)
We’ve had one miscarriage.

We’ve attended (whether in body or in spirit) the weddings of 6 siblings.
We’ve lost three grandparents.

We’ve traveled a lot:
San Francisco; Calgary; Seattle; Washington, D.C.; Richmond, VA; San Diego; Las Vegas; Spokane; Coeur d’Alene, ID; Florida; Houston and Galveston, TX; Southern California; Banff; (there’s more, but I can’t think of specifics right now!)

We’ve been to Disneyland 4 times. Only once did we have one of our kids with us.

We’ve been inside 8 LDS Temples together:
Mt. Timpanogos (where we got married)
Idaho Falls
Seattle
Cardston
Spokane
Logan
Las Vegas
Mesa
We’ve also been outside 3 LDS Temples:
Washington, DC
Reno
Salt Lake City

We’ve voted in 3 U.S. Presidential elections.
We’ve seen two men serve as prophet and president of our church.

We’ve owned 4 vehicles:
1988 Ford Festiva
1998 Saturn SL (we still have this one)
2002 Chevy Cavalier
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan (we still have this one)

We’ve owned 3 gaming systems:
Playstation
2 XBoxes
We’ve owned 4 TVs.
We’ve owned 1 VCR, rented 1 VCR, and borrowed 1 VCR.
We’ve owned 3 DVD players.
We’ve owned 1 stereo.

We’ve worked at 23 full or part time jobs.
We have worked at 12 institutions of education:
1 preschools/elementary schools
3 middle schools
5 high schools
1 college
2 universities

I’d say we’ve done a lot in 12 years. I can’t count the smiles, the laughter, the number of jokes told, the number of kisses and hugs, the phone calls, the emails, the text messages, the nights staying up late talking, the friends we’ve made and kept, the photos taken, the prayers shared, the tears shed in both sadness and happiness, the concerts played in, the concerts attended, the concerts conducted. Life isn’t always perfect, but I’m sure glad I have Ches to share it all with. It’s always worth it.

10 responses to “12 Years and Counting

  1. I LOVE THIS! AND I LOVE YOU!!!! You have accomplished so much in such a short time. There are some people that can’t even hope to do this many things, see this many places, affect as many lives as you guys have! I know that you feel crazy most of the time, but it’s all been worth it! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!

  2. This was a wonderfully well-written post. So many accomplishments, in what feels like a very short amount of time. You should be very proud. I know it’s had it’s ups and downs, but when you look at like this, all listed, it definitely feels like more ups than downs. Congratulations on 12 years and Happy Anniversary!

  3. Love it! I did something similar to this last year, but on a much smaller scale. I like this much better and will probably steal it next month. Hope you don’t mind (don’t really care if you do, though πŸ˜‰ ) I remember the first time you told me about Ches, and here you are 12 years later! Happy Anniversary!

  4. Happy Anniversary! I loved what you just did! I might have to steal that idea sometime in my next upcoming anniversaries! It’s awesome of how much stuff you guys did together! Such great memories! πŸ™‚

  5. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!! I love this list!!! I hope I remember it cuz I’m totally going to steal it come February.
    It’s weird how so much time can pass and so many things can happen, and yet it still feels like a short amount of time. Here’s to 12 more years passing in the blink of an eye! πŸ˜€

  6. Wow, what a great list. Life is really a series of great accomplishments when you look at it this way. I think I need to look at life this way, but our anniversary is not until September. I hope I will remember this post when the time comes.

  7. This was so fun. I just read your blog from March to the present and have loved every word! Not only are you a fabuloso writer, what you ahve to say is so intersting. And the post about whining was spot on! Oh, and I also love the Julia movie.

    xoxoxo!

    Katie

Leave a Reply

