Julie and Julia

Ches and I love to watch movies, whether it’s a rental or in the theatre. Always have. Most of our dates before we were married involved going to see a movie. Heck, most of our dates since we’ve been married involves going to see a movie (the remainder of our “dates” would be going to rehearsal and not sitting near each other for a few hours…). I’m pretty open to what movies I see, however, like most girls, I seem to really enjoy the “chick flick”. Ches rarely wants to see what I want to see. When he’s in charge of bringing home movies for rental night at home, he’ll often bring home something involving destruction. It’s about war or a world disaster (earthquakes, volcanos, and astroids, oh my!) or an alien invasion… Not that I mind. I tend to like them, too (2012 was saved by the fact that is starred John Cusak. I’m not kidding.). What was I saying? Oh, it was my turn to pick. And I couldn’t find anything in THREE Redbox kiosks that Ches would be even remotely interested in, so I chose Julie and Julia. It’s one I’ve been wanting to see because 1) I heard it was great and B) I just love Amy Adams and think she’s adorable.

If you’ve been living under a rock and don’t know the premise of the movie, I’ll tell you what it’s about. No, it’s too long. I’ll try to sum up. The movie is based in part on the book “My Life in France”, which is Julia Child’s memoirs, and on a blog by Julie Powell in which she spent one year cooking all 500-something recipes of Julia Child’s cookbook “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”. There you go.

Something is probably wrong with me because unlike the rest of the universe, I don’t think Meryl Streep is the most amazing actress ever. I don’t worship everything she does. Do I think she’s a bad actress? Absolutely not. I think she is great. I just don’t go out of my way to watch Meryl Streep. Something about her actually bugs me a little. I don’t know what it is, and I don’t know why. So while I love Amy Adams (did I mention I think she’s adorable? Because she is!), I wasn’t that excited about Meryl Streep. Hmmm, maybe it’s just all the hype. I hate people and things being built up and built up because they can never bee as good as they are made out to be. Ches wasn’t excited about the movie because it looked too girly or something. I’m not sure. So I turned it on while he sat with his laptop and got school work done.

Ches actually liked the movie. I think it was the cooking (don’t forget, Ches loves to cook. He’s quite good at it, when he has time). And the story was actually quite lovely, so while I don’t know that he will admit it, I think he was taken in by the whole story. I liked the movie a lot, too. And I found that I liked the parts with Meryl Streep better than the parts with Amy Adams. Interesting.

I found Julia Child to be such an intriguing character! I want to read her memoirs now and learn more about her. I would also love to have a copy of her cookbook and see what I can do. Some of the stuff looks so hard (and I’m not talking about boning a duck), but it also looks SO YUMMY. I love food. I want to eat that yummy, yummy stuff. And oh my goodness, if Julia Child can make that stuff in her tiny Parisian kitchen (you should see the size of that oven!! It looked like the size of a large Easy Bake Oven. I’m not kidding.) and Julie Powell could make stuff in her tiny Queens apartment kitchen, I can make that stuff in my tiny suburban kitchen (which, as small as it is, is probably twice the size of that one in Queens. Maybe 1.5 times the size. Whatever.) Julia Child just seems so pleasant and wonderful. Julie Powell… well, while her part of the story was interesting, I didn’t really connect with her or like her that much. She seemed a little too whiny and “woah is me”. I get that she was at a point in her life where she felt empty and depressed and needed something new. Really, I do get that. And I liked that this project really opened her up and “saved” her. But it didn’t make me like her any more. I wonder if I can find her blog and read it. Maybe I’ll like her then. I don’t know.

Watching this movie made me want to cook. A lot. And it made me want to blog. I mean, I do blog, but I don’t blog like I used to. It’s funny because there is a point in the movie where Julie gets in a fight with her husband over the blog. He accuses her of becoming narcissistic because of the blog. She has to be the center of the world, and it’s all coming crashing down on her when it doesn’t all go according to how she thinks it should. She has meltdown after meltdown, all in the name of this project she had for the blog.

I started to think about my blog. Wow. I’m pretty narcissistic, too. I mean, what made me think that other people would be interested in my thoughts? I didn’t start this blog as a way to keep my far away family members and friends caught up with my life and my children. I started this blog because I wanted to write and to have people read what I say and comment. I wanted to make a difference in the world. I wanted to be famous. Or infamous. Or something. I wanted to put my thoughts and ideas out there and I wanted to be loved for it!!

Well, I’m not famous. I’m not infamous. I’m still… something. I don’t write like I used to, but I still put myself out there. I pour out my thoughts for you, hoping that what I say is worthwhile (I know it’s not always… I’m choosing to ignore that fact for the moment) and makes people think. But Julie and Julia has inspired me a bit. I’m going to keep writing. I’ll never be famous. Or infamous. I’ll always be something… Me!! Thanks for reading, guys.

Oh, and if you haven’t seen it, go watch Julie and Julia. And get ready to crave some beef bourguignon. I’ve never had it, but I want it. And I want to make it. Like NOW. (I think I’m asking for “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” for my birthday this year.)

10 responses to “Julie and Julia

  1. I know exactly what you mean! (especially about the bouf bourguinon, which I have to spell “bouf” because it makes me laugh every time I say it)

    I, too, think Amy Adams is just adorable. There’s no other word for it, really. And I’m not all that awed by Meryl Streep. But she blew me away as Julia Child. And the Julia parts of the movie amazed me, but the Julie parts were just so-so. The thing is, after we watched the movie, I looked up her blog, and honestly, she doesn’t seem like that nice of a person. She has a new book out, and apparently it’s about, at least in part, her cheating on her husband. Sad. Anyway, not all that impressed with her, but I’d love to read “My Life in France” by Julia, and I, too, think I need “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”.

  2. I have to admit that while the movie had some funny moments, and some of it was indeed adorable, I was bored. And, I didn’t connect with the Julie character at all. Probably like you said, she was whiny.

    I almost approved when her husband left. I kinda didn’t care if he came back either. wow.

  3. Haven’t seen the movie, and probably won’t, to be honest. But the whole blogging thing you were talking about, that I understand. The show “House” had a recent episode about a blogger (played by the redhead on “That 70s Show”, whose name escapes me just now) and I totally identified with her, and how a lot of the other characters didn’t really get it. I think you have to be a blogger to really understand blogging…

    But anyway, I really loved this post, Sariah. I find it very engaging to connect with people by how they react to movies and books. And your opinions are always interesting and worth reading.

  4. I haven’t seen the movie and probably wont. My attention span for movies is even less than my kids attention spans. I’m serious–I can’t sit through a movie. I tried ***really*** hard to sit with Jenacy through The Princess and the Frog a couple weeks ago and couldn’t do it. Really, I tried! I was so bored I was ready to start banging my head on the wall.

    Anyway 😛

    I love your blog. I love reading your thoughts. I love seeing how my pseudo twin is doing. You’ll always be a superstar to me 🙂

  5. Tried to not leave a comment. Just because you asked for comments.

    But how can I resist?

    I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the reasons people blog, and the reasons I blog. For some it really is to connect the family with what the children have been doing. But I have flickr for that. For some it’s just a fun thing. But I have facebook for that. For some, as cjane put it, it’s professional narcissism. I never thought of it that way before, but I guess I probably fit into that latter category. Although I prefer to think of it in terms of sharing my thoughts with my friends. I like to think I’m having a conversation. Except these days I’m mostly talking to myself.

    And I’m okay with that, too! *smirk*

  6. I loved the movie for Julia Child. That part so well done you just felt like you were there and could feel all that she went through to get her book done. But my favorite person in the whole movie is her husband! What a seriously fun and amazing man. I just loved their relationship. For me the Julie part was just a way to tell the other story.

  7. I just recently saw this movie too. I didn’t think anyone else felt about Meryl Streep the way I do, but you described it perfectly. I know she’s a good actress, she just bugs me. As for the movie, I took a while to get into it. I watched it through Netflix online, so I could turn it on whenever I had a few minutes to watch, but then I’d get distracted so it’s nice that Netflix will pick it up exactly where I left off. Maybe if I’d just watched it all the way through in one sitting I’d have liked it better. Anyway, it made me want to cook more too, but I think I’d rather work my way through something like my Better Homes & Gardens cookbook than a French cooking one.

  8. I feel the same way about Meryl Streep. Thanks for the movie review. I have wanted to see this, so I’ll have to get it next time it’s my turn to “pick”!

  9. I love reading your writing. You make me wish I could write my thoughts better. You are so good at it! I haven’t seen the movie. Would like to someday, but, it’s not on my agenda right. The closest Redbox is the McDonald’s in Smithfield, and while Jody works there, we really don’t have time to watch movies. We have to much on DVR (which I love and would highly recommend to you!). Anyway, thanks for writing. It makes me feel good to read you!

Leave a Reply

