D’Oh!

I haven’t had an accident since I was 16 years old and the old guy made a left turn and took off the front end of the car I was driving. It wasn’t my fault, and the old guy felt horrible. I ended up with whiplash and had to wear an embarrassing neck brace to school. I was in the middle of taking final exams. I was a sophomore in high school and had had my license for one month.

I have never had a ticket. I got a citation when I was 20 because I didn’t have car insurance, so I gathered the $100 fine (which was a struggle because it was the first week of school and I couldn’t even pay tuition or rent) and turned it in just to be asked “Did you get insurance?” I replied in the negative, and the secretary who took my money said, “Too bad.” Apparently if I had spent that $100 on car insurance they would have waived my fine. Hmpf.

Yesterday we met with a guy about getting new car insurance because they were looking at saving us something like $40 a month. We could use every penny, and while we’ve been with the same insurance company for as long as we’ve been married and we love them and treat us well, if another company can save us money with the same or better coverage, we’re going to have to do it.

Tonight I came home from book club, pulled in my driveway, then remembered I hadn’t gotten the mail, so I backed out of the driveway. I heard a crunching sound, and freaked. Without giving any details (I would like to wait until after I talk to my insurance company tomorrow morning), I backed into my neighbor’s car.

I feel like such an idiot. I’m so mad at myself.

Ches isn’t mad… yet. I’m sure that will change when we have to pay to replace the bumper on the van. And we can’t change insurance companies now, I’m sure. There goes my perfect record. And now I have Alanis Morrisette’s “Ironic” stuck in my head. If I wasn’t on this diet I’d drown my sorrows in Thin Mints and hot chocolate.

4 responses to “D’Oh!

  1. It’s a horrible feeling. I know. I’d never had any accidents until that mess in Vegas. I still cringe when the boys talk about “remember when Mummy broke Silver Ford?” It was two and a half years ago and I still feel so dumb about it. I’m here to say I know how you feel.

  2. I so feel for you – I told you my story of woe with the humpty on Facebook – I hope it worked out OK – oh yeah, and there’s always the time when I barely bumped into the guy’s trailer hitch in front of me (I was going maybe 10 miles an hour and misjudged the distance at the stoplight). No damage done – just a dent in my front bumper but I thought I should be responsible and exchange insurance info anyway – the jerk then claimed he sprained his wrist because of it! What a phony – I was 9 months prego and totally fine. I still have hostile feelings toward him (can you tell? hee hee)

Leave a Reply

