Square 1

I have been working so hard at controlling my temper and letting things just slide off my back rather than getting worked up about it. I have been working hard at making this season about Christmas and finding activities (even if it’s just opening the door to the Advent calendar for another piece of chocolate) so the boys won’t be focused on what they will find under the tree. I have been working hard at getting my house a little more clean and a little more organized. I have been working SO HARD to become a little bit more like the old Sariah that everyone actually liked to be around (myself included).

This morning, I’m right back to square 1. Aiden didn’t finish his homework yesterday, so he had to do it this morning (and I had to check and make sure he had today’s homework done since neither Ches or I will be home at all today). Then I realized I didn’t get laundry done and Aiden doesn’t have any clean jeans to wear. Aiden also managed to leave his jacket on a bench at the playground at school, and it was quite cool this morning. (By the way, I don’t mean it was down to 90 degrees. It was a LOT colder than that this morning. It’s only 36 right now. So save your sarcastic comments for a day when I’m in a better mood, thank you very much.) I got confused and thought Ches was getting paid today. Well, he gets paid next week. So I spent some money yesterday and now I get to take back Harry Potter and a shirt I got just so we can have groceries. Don’t even ask how I’m going to pay the babysitter tonight. Maybe I can just not buy any food (even though we’re out of a lot of stuff we NEED) and use the Harry Potter money to pay the sitter. I’m so mad at myself.

I lost it this morning over and over again. Aiden took 45 minutes to do 20 math problems. That is NOT okay. He’s freaking highly gifted. Why can’t he just focus on the one task and get it done? Instead, he lines up his erasers and makes light sabre sounds. Argh. Parker asked for muffins for breakfast, so I took out the cheap muffin mix we have. I let them cook a little too long because I was brushing Aiden’s hair. Parker wouldn’t eat the muffins. Argh. Dallin asked for cereal for breakfast, and then he told me it was too soggy and he wanted muffins. Wasted a bowl of cereal because by the time I got over to check, the cereal really WAS soggy. Argh.

I’m starting to sound like — and feel like — Alexander who had the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. “I went to bed with gum in my mouth and when I woke up there was gum in my hair.”

I want to move to Australia.

*****
Edit
Right after I hit “publish” on this post, I checked my email and found this. I laughed so hard. It just seems to fit with my mood today, and I wanted to share it with you:

Dr. Phil proclaimed, ‘The way to achieve inner peace is to finish all the things you have started and have never finished.’

So, I looked around my house to see all the things I started and hadn’t finished, and before leaving the house this morning, I finished off a bottle of White Zinfandel, a bottle of Bailey’s Irish Cream, a package of Oreos, the remainder of an old Prozac prescription, the rest of the cheesecake, some Doritos, and a box of chocolates. You have no idea how freaking good I feel right now.

8 responses to “Square 1

  1. I am so right there with you on how on earth it can take a freakingly gifted child so long to do so little homework. We go through the same thing with Vicki all. the. time.

    I’ll join you in Australia. You bring the half-eaten Oreos and I’ll bring the open box of chocolates 🙂

  2. I was hearing the Alexander quote before you mentioned it! Loved the quote from Dr Phil. I made a goal when I got back from my visit to you to FINISH some of my projects…I got the front bedroom painted–but stll have the finish work [since IKE!] Um, I finished the stuff for the Christmas ornament exchange I went to–a whole 3 hours early, does that count?

    Can I move to Australia with you?

  3. lol. I’m thinking that’s not quite what Dr. Phil meant, but I think what you did would be much more useful than following his hollow advise;-) Finishing all you start would just lead to more crazy stress, more yelling and you’d eventually land up with the alcohol and chocolates anyways, so just start there and save the stress!

  4. Thank you, Sariah. I’m much the same as you, trying to hard with my temper and getting the house cleaner and basically just trying to be ME again. Today was a hard day, and that Dr. Phil quote made me laugh. Thanks. I love you!!!

  5. Wow!! Sounds like my day. I forgot a field trip and a meeting and about 15 other things. On top of that I have to try to cram for a final before I can go to bed. Ah…the life of a mom. Mike would absolutely KILL to go to Australia and I am MORE than ready to go. We found a killer mansion for only 2 million if you want to split it with us. Perfect spot on the Golden Coast of Australia. *sigh* Please….let’s go.

  6. This post reminded me of when Ryan was that age, and it took from 3:30 pm until 10 O’CLOCK!!!! to finish his homework. How I felt like a slavedriver. “Get back on it, Ryan. Focus, Ryan. Ryan, stop tapping your pencil. Ryan, where IS your pencil? Ryan, how could you have broken/lost/broken the eraser off of your pencil for the THIRD time today?!” (That was KINDERGARTEN. Three worksheets. Ridiculous! Hello, AD/HD!!) But it improved, and improved, and by sixth grade, he was pretty much on his homework without me. Now, in 9th, he is on his own homework without me…but he doesn’t always do it. Which means he makes an “A” on tests, but turns in no homework, and ends up with a “C” for the 9-wk. period, and that drives. Me. BATTY.
    Just think this: “This too shall pass,” and believe it. Hold onto it by your fingernails.
    I love you.
    xoxo,
    Angel

  7. I have so been there. In fact many times. Dakota was once late for school by three hours because he had no pants to wear. We do what we can do Sariah and one day we will laugh, not at the yelling but at the muffins.

    I think I’m going to go finish a box of cookies or something right now.

Leave a Reply

