Tis The Season To Watch TV Specials

The December/Christmas TV special season has begun! Tonight we (the entire Phoenix family) watched “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” and “Shrek The Halls” on ABC. We’re really looking forward to next Tuesday when we will watch “A Charlie Brown Christmas” and the brand new “Prep and Landing”. That last one just looks funny. I love watching Christmas movies and specials on TV. I love getting new movies to watch. It’s just… festive. And fun. I’m pretty sure I’ve gone through my Christmas Must See list before, but I don’t feel like going through my archives to find it. So I’m just going to give you a brief look at my favorites. Here are a few Christmas specials/movies I have to watch every year:

1. A Charlie Brown Christmas
This is the best Christmas special out there. From the entire Peanuts gang dancing around Shroeder’s piano playing to Snoopy as the World War I flying Ace to Charlie Brown “ruining” Christmas with his sparse, little tree… it’s just perfect. My favorite has always been Linus standing on stage, wearing his blanket on his head to look like a shepherd, and telling the Christmas story straight from Scripture. It’s simple. It’s beautiful. I tear up every single time I see it.

2. A Muppet Christmas Carol
I’m a fan of classics, but I’m not a fan of Dickens. He’s just hard to read. However, you can’t have Christmas without a telling of “A Christmas Carol”. There are other versions that I do enjoy, but The Muppets really take the cake. Rizzo the Rat and Gonzo as narrators? Classic. Kermit the Frog as Bob Cratchit? I wouldn’t have it any other way. Michael Caine as a serious Scrooge in the midst of these hilarious Muppets? GENIUS. And now that my kids are finally really into the Muppets (the ones *not* on Sesame Street), I am hoping to purchase it so we can watch it over and over.

3. Merry Christmas, Mr. Bean
I was introduced to this by a friend in high school. She brought it in so we could watch it during Music Theory. I don’t know when I laughed harder in my entire life. The show opens with the shot of a beautiful Nativity scene, and Mr. Bean is playing with the figurines. Each figure has come to see the Baby Jesus and as they make noise, the other figures all shush the noise. Even when a helicopter brings in a cow. Oh man, I’m giggling just thinking about it. I love Mr. Bean’s attempt to stuff and cook a turkey. I love the Christmas tree he picks out. It’s all so classically Mr. Bean. If you don’t know this one… run, do not walk, to the video store and rent it today. You just can’t go wrong with Mr. Bean.

4. A Christmas Story
This is another childhood favorite of mine. Ches hates this movie. I know many of you, dear readers, also hate it. But I LOVE IT. I know almost every line. I have no problem double dog daring someone to stick their tongue to a light post (not that it matters here in Arizona). Everytime I see a box (epecially around Christmas time), I must read the word “fra-gee-lay” then say “It must be Italian.” Last year we found little tree lights that were leg lamps. Ches wouldn’t let me get them. Sad! The other day, as we took the kids to Wal-Mart for their complimentary pictures with Santa, I so wanted to teach them each to tell Santa they wanted a Red Rider BB Gun. Ches wouldn’t let me (although he did laugh this time). And I love to sing “Fa Ra Ra Ra Ra…” This is another movie I really, really want to purchase this year.

Here are some of my new favorites:

1. Elf
This is just a funny, heart-warming movie. How can anyone not like Buddy the Elf? “Smiling’s my favorite.” My favorite scene, however, is the duet of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.” I’m not normally a Will Ferrell fan, but I love love love this movie.

2. The Holiday
Kate Winslet is one of my favorite actresses. Jack Black is freaking hilarious. Jude Law is hot. Cameron Diaz isn’t normally on my “must see” list, but she’s in a few things I love. This didn’t get that many good reviews, but I like it. Kate Winslet is trying to get over a unrequited love, and Cameron Diaz is trying to get over a cheater and her busy, hectic life, so they switch homes. One is an idyllic English cottage, the other an L.A. mansion. They each learn a lot about themselves and the things that they want or are truly important. It’s a great little chick flick that makes me happy.

3. The Santa Clause
Okay, really, I like all The Santa Clause movies. Tim Allen is funny and I like just about anything that will make me laugh without being embarrassed even a little by the content. I also like that they manage to use all the same actors for all three films. And just the idea of Tim Allen turning into Santa is fun. We’ll be renting this one this weekend (I hope). Or all three. 🙂

What are some of your favorites?

8 responses to “Tis The Season To Watch TV Specials

  1. Sariah, every year I think this will be the year I beat her to the christmas theme. I was going to wait until tomorrow, but apparently I am late again. Its not even dec.

    As for the Christmas Movies:
    Classics I have to Watch (and in no particular order)

    1. White Christmas
    2. Its a wonderful life
    3. A Christmas Story

    Others I like to See

    1. Mr Cruger’s Christmas
    2. Miracle on 34th street (either one, but I prefer the original)
    3. Elf
    4. The Holiday
    5. All of the Santa Clause Movies
    6. Die Hards (I really have to be in the mood for those)
    7. Polar Express
    8. Pride and Prejudice (Not a christmas movie but its good to see anytime)
    9. The Shop around the corner
    10. Meet me in St. Louis
    11. Holiday Inn
    12. How the Grinch Stole Christmas
    13. The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
    14. The Bells of St. Mary
    15. Sleepless in Seattle

    I think there is more but I will stop now so others have a chance.

  2. What a fun tradition to watch the specials together! Wow, I must be a grinch–we’ve never watched any Christmas movie with the kids before! Maybe we’ll remedy that this year.

  3. I love the many Christmas specials. The grinch is amongst my favourites. Also National Lampoon’s Christmas vacation and Mr. Bean.

  4. A Christmas Story is my #1. But this year I think we’ll need to introduce the girls to the Muppets’ Christmas Carol and Mr. Bean. I ❤ Mr. Bean!

    I notice you left off Christmas Vacation. While I don't think we're ready to let the girls watch that one, yet, it's pretty much a Christmas classic. I've always wanted to stand up at a big Christmas party and recite the Pledge of Allegiance instead of the blessing on the food. Priceless.

  5. Aren’t Charlie Brown and Prep and Landing on tonight? That is what our TV listing says…Bob missed How the Grinch Stole Christmas last night and I wouldn’t want that to happen to you guys!!

  6. Pingback: The Holiday Jack Black Audi Music | Audi Photos Blog

Leave a Reply

