On Having a Gifted Child

There are days when I want to take Aiden by the shoulders, shake him, and yell, “You are Gifted!! Quit acting so DUMB!!”

I honestly can’t understand sometimes why such a smart little boy can “forget” to do something as simple as put his dirty socks in the laundry basket. The basket sitting right next to his door. And I just told him. He walked into his room to do just that, and then I catch him building with his Legos instead. The dirty socks are sitting on his bed, still. I don’t get it.

He forgets to turn in his homework. He remembers to take his homework binder out and have his teacher check the other work that he did, but he can’t remember to take the written work out of the front pocket and put it in the homework box. Every single day.

When it comes down to it, Aiden is a normal 7 year old with some pretty heavy brain power. I have to remember that. Just because he can read like a 5th grader doesn’t mean he is as mature as one. He does this crazy things because he is easily distracted or because he wants to see what will happen, such as when he squirts toothpaste in a line on the counter or yells “Hi Dad!” in the middle of a concert (even though i just spend 10 minutes discussing and quizzing the kids on proper concert behavior. He’s been going to concerts every couple of months for 7 years. This shouldn’t be a surprise. ~sigh~). He’s my Aiden, and I love him. Even when he frustrates the heck out of me and calls me an Evil Meanie.

6 responses to “On Having a Gifted Child

  1. Well, I don’t have a ‘gifted’ child, but he sure does all the rest of the stuff that Aiden does. At home he is awful!!! Yet at school, they think he is so great and follows instructions and is so kind to everyone else. Boggles my mind! But, like you said, we still love him…just don’t like him very much sometimes! πŸ˜€

  2. I’d be worried if he didn’t call you an Evil Meanie. Really, it was the children whose parents tried to be buddies with their children that were the ones that were really messed up. The parents who acted like parents, even when it was hard, even when their children screamed to the neighbourhood that their parents are ruining their lives and they wished they’d never been born, are the ones whose children came out just fine.

    Just remember: the days are long, but the years are short.

  3. Vicki’s kind of the same. Sometimes I just want to scream at her, “where did you leave your brains!” Seriously, it’s a mystery. I think if she put down the books for 10 seconds, her memory would come back and I wouldn’t be nagging her ALL. THE. TIME. And I’ve been called the equivalent of “evil meanie” more times than I care to remember. You’re not alone.

  4. LOL! I thought for sure that Jaedin being so blind would stop when he got glasses. Nope. His shoes are sitting RIGHT in front of him and he’s looking on the couch for them. AHHHH!!!! THEY’RE *RIGHT* THERE!!!! ON THE FLOOR!!! WHERE YOU TOOK THEM OFF!!!!!!!! I think I’m realizing that being a whiz at school doesn’t carry over into other things haha Good thing the kids are so darn lovable πŸ™‚

    And I’m totally with Heather–You are doing a crazy awesome job with him and he’ll turn out just fine. πŸ™‚

    PS–out of curiosity, are your other kids showing signs of being gifted too?

    ~and totally not related to anything other than school and it made me laugh on the inside so I have to share: I have a SENIOR in my seminary class. She wrote this sentence today: “I now are father loves us.” haha

  5. haha, Aiden is a funny kid. Maybe he’ll be gifted at hockey too. That would be awesome.

    If that seminary class is as early as my seminary class was, I would blame anyone for a sentence like that.

  6. Selmar, I hope you meant you WOULDN’T blame… Feathersky, I find it horrifying! Sariah [& friends], Aiden has what my friends called “Selective Blindness” or “Selective Deafness”. And trust me–at his age [and older] you had it too!

Leave a Reply

