Is There Anything Better Than Cake??

The answer is yes. Birthday cake. πŸ™‚

For Ches’ birthday, he just asked for a chocolate cake. Nothing special. I didn’t know what to do with a “nothing” request!! Aiden wanted to get him a trumpet for his birthday, but of course we can’t afford a new trumpet, so I decided to surprise Ches with a trumpet on his cake.

And here is where I turn into Ms. Cake Wreck. I didn’t have time to make frosting (I have a pretty good recipe from my stepmom… a professional cake decorator), so since I was at the grocery store anyway, I just picked up a small package of yellow, pre-made piping frosting. BIG MISTAKE. Never ever ever use that. It’s just easier to make the frosting from scratch. If you ever want my recipe, ask and I’ll share. Trust me. It’s worth it. This stuff was too hard to use. It actually split my piping bag!! Good thing I wasn’t using the good bag and was just using a disposable plastic one. Anyway, I couldn’t get the detail I had planned because the frosting was so hard to use, and I was so frustrated and done, I didn’t even write Happy Birthday or anything. Oh, well. Too bad. So sad. I wanted it to be a shiny, new trumpet, so I bought yellow sugar sprinkles. The sprinkles went everywhere! Argh! I cleaned it up as best as I could, and this is the result:
Ches' Trumpet Birthday Cake

Aren’t we all glad I’m not paid for this? heh

Parker’s birthday was a week later. We are celebrating tomorrow (due to schedules and finances). He requested a Toy Story 2 cake, and I agonized over it! How in the world would I pull that off? I finally came up with an idea, and after searching Coolest Birthday Cakes I found other cakes along the same idea. I found a set of figurines at the Disney Store for $12. My friend and neighbor, Kim, is a professional and she offered to help me along. Ches was too busy to be able to help this time. I made a normal sheet cake for the floor, and used a bread pan to make Andy’s bed. Only the quilt, the pillow, and the rug are fondant. Parker LOVES it, and I honestly don’t think it’s going to last til tomorrow night. We’re going to have to do cake and ice cream for breakfast or something. πŸ™‚
2009.09.11, toy story 2 cake 025edit
2009.09.11, toy story 2 cake 027
2009.09.11, toy story 2 cake 031 (Bo Peep is hiding in the back because this is a boy’s cake. heh)

Happy birthday to two of my boys!! πŸ™‚

9 responses to “Is There Anything Better Than Cake??

  1. Nice job! I really, really love the Buzz Lightyear cake–esp. the bed. Fondant makes everything look cool. Your kids will remember these forever–I remember when my mom made me cakes, and it’s been a loooong time. πŸ™‚

  2. Those are great cakes! I like the trumpet cake! All that matters is that it has chocolate icing and it looks good to me!

Leave a Reply

