Monday Morning

I wasn’t looking forward to today because it is the first day of band camp. I like having Ches around, and knowing he’ll be gone all day every day just isn’t my idea of fun. I woke up this morning and walked downstairs. The kitchen and living room are clean. No clutter, (almost) no dirty dishes, no trash waiting to be taken out. The floors have been vacuumed. The shelves, piano, and pictures have even been dusted.

It didn’t take long. Especially when I had the kids picking up their own toys and books and running them upstairs. I reorganized some books that don’t fit on the bookshelf and I cleaned up the music sitting on the floor next to the piano. Dallin and Parker helped dust (they like the Swiffer Duster. It’s “fun”.) and I did the dishes right after dinner. I never do the dishes right after dinner! I can’t wait to get the carpets cleaned.

I have become more and more anxious the past couple of years, and I can’t stand a ton of clutter. It overwhelms me and suddenly I can’t think, I can’t breathe, I can’t function. So to wake up today and see some sort of organization and neatness… Oh, the calming joy of it all!! It’s a perfect way to start the day. I feel like I can handle the kids and the laundry. I feel like I can accomplish everything on my list this week. I don’t even care that I don’t have a car and am stuck in the house. Now, I’m going back downstairs to bask in cleanliness.

7 responses to “Monday Morning

  1. This is where I sigh and wish that it would stay that way. It seems like all I ever do is clean in circles. With my kids following behind to undo anything I accomplish… sorry, I am just having one of those frustrated cleaning days…

  2. Yay! What a great feeling for you today. Etta has loved having Bob home all summer and I am dreading the start of school already. (Although Bob teaching elementary is a plus because it doesn’t come with all that other “stuff”.)

  3. Yippee for clean rooms to wake up to. I’m with you that it is great to wake up to at least one room clean. That is one thing I have struggled with lately is keeping everything as clean as I want it while being so sick and tired that I can only do a very little. I hope you do get through your list for the week.

  4. I know what you mean. Most of the time I have to just let it go and not worry about it, but it never ceases to take a huge load off my shoulders I didn’t even know was there until it’s gone when I do a huge cleaning or reorganizing.

  5. you gotta love a clean house! Chloe has her share of “jobs” to do around the house…like dusting, she loves the swiffer duster to, and also the one for the floor, so she’ll do that for me to, and of course picking up the toys, and her room. you gotta love it when the kids like to help. 🙂 we’re excited to see you guys soon 🙂

  6. I wish that I could feel that feeling. Maybe next week. Mike finally got a job so I can cut back on the hours at my job and maybe, just maybe, I can get some cleaning done! I hate clutter!!!

Leave a Reply

