Stranger Danger

I’m not a morning person. I think we all know that. It’s just not pretty to wake me up too early. However, I have three little boys that repeatedly wake up much earlier that I would like. Normally I can get them a snack or a cup of milk, turn on the computer or a movie, and I can go back to sleep for a good hour with no problems. Aiden is at the age where he takes care of himself, and I like it that way.

This morning was a typical morning. I was sound asleep, Ches had gone in to the school before anyone else woke up to get some work done, and Aiden and Dallin woke up and started to play. I thought I could hear Star Wars talk, so I assumed they were playing Lego Star Wars or one of the many computer games they found websites for. The sun was shining, and I could hear some landscapers outside that the HOA hired to trim trees and such. Aiden and Dallin are having a lot of fun and their voices are getting louder and louder. It’s annoying, but I’m too tired to get up and tell them to be quiet.

After a while, I realize that Aiden and Dallin aren’t on the computer. I don’t hear the TV. They are still talking, and I hear them yelling things about our vacation and I can hear voices talking back to them. Now suddenly wide awake, I get up and find the two boys at one of the upstairs windows, talking to the landscapers. It wouldn’t be too big of a deal, except for what Aiden was telling them. And by telling, I mean shouting. For the entire neighborhood to hear.

Aiden told them we are going on vacation, exactly where we are going on vacation, what we are going to do on vacation, and the day we leave for vacation.

I was livid! These men seem nice enough to talk to my boys while they are working (they talked about trees and Star Wars and such, too), but they are strangers and who’s to say one of them isn’t going to come back and see what stuff we have in our house while we’re gone? Or anyone out for a walk? Now I’m going to be worried the entire time we’re gone. If Aiden wasn’t so young, I’d be tempted to leave him home from vacation and let him deal with any intruders!!! ARGH!

These kids will be the death of me.

8 responses to “Stranger Danger

  1. That is so scary! Your kids sound like mine though…they will talk to adults without any fear at all. Sometimes it’s good, but lots of times I wish I had shy little kids that won’t talk to anyone!! Lock up really good! I’m sure everything will be just fine!

  2. get a timer to turn lights on and off, so people think, you really didn’t go away. And have someone check the house, while you are away.

  3. Ooh, this is not funny! 😦 I’m sorry! I remember a few years ago, Cadi did something similar. She was out playing in the backyard while her friends behind us were playing in their backyard. She proceeded to yell to them our upcoming vacation plans. She got a good talking to about why that was NOT a good idea. The good news: No one broke into our house while we were gone, and she’s never done it again… so hopefully that will be the case for you, too.

  4. Oh Goodness. Sariah, I’m so sorry. Tips from a homeowner: make sure you have renter’s insurance. leave your porch light on. leave on light in the house on. Somewhere in the house where it’s noticeable that it’s on but not necessarily in front of a window. Have someone come check the house every day. Pick up the newspaper, make sure no weeds or flyers/garbage have been blown in by the front door. Last resort pay a college student in the ward to stay in your house while your gone. Good luck! It will all work out.

  5. Gotta love the kids and their complete and total innocence.

    I agree with what the others have said, get some timers and have someone walk around in your house a couple times a day, randomly. Cancel the paper and stop the mail and pray a lot.

    Best of luck!

  6. Jaedin did the same thing a few weeks ago. We’re eating dinner and he starts talking about how he talked to the Builder in the back yard. I thought he was talking about Bob the Builder or something imaginary, but he keeps going on about it, so I start questioning more. Turns out a Comcast guy was working on a line right on the other side of our fence, so Jaedin was up on the fence talking to him while I was making dinner (I had no idea!). So, I ask Jaedin, “so, if the builder had asked you to get in his truck so that you could help him, would you have gone with him?” With no hesitation, and lots of excitement, Jaedin says, “YEAH!!!!!!!!” erm. yeah, my kids will be the death of me too. (we had LOTS of long conversations after that!!!)

Leave a Reply

