Silver Threads

When I was younger I used to say that when my hair went grey I hoped it would be all silver. Not the dull grey or the white that most people get, but the shiny silver hair that some people get. I thought the silver hair was pretty and different, and it would be kind of fun to have shiny silver hair.

I’m 32 years old and I don’t think that’s old enough, but I am totally going grey. All my grey hairs are shiny and silver. You would think I’d be excited about it, but I’m not. The light catches the shiny silver just right, and that’s all you can see. I have tons and tons of my normal, boring, brown hair, but because of the shine all I can focus on is the silver. And it’s everywhere. I can’t afford to dye my hair (heck, I can’t even afford to get my hair cut right now! I haven’t had a hair cut in over 2 years!! Not even a trim! Yes, it is that bad.) so I just have to suck it up. I was pulling any grey hairs I find, but now there are just too many.

You know, when I was young I used to joke that I wanted to be a fat, Italian mama. I got the fat and mama part right.

Side note: Don’t you dare call me “Mama”. I hate that. My kids have never been allowed to call me “Mama.” Always “Mom” or “Mommy”. That’s it. No other variations. I would accept a “Mum” if we had the right accent, but we don’t. I mostly just hate hate hate Mama. So don’t try it, don’t refer to me that way in front of my kids, nothing. Thank you.

So here I am, in my 30’s, I’m fat, I’m a mother, I have Italian blood (but that’s it… sorry Mom), and I have shiny silver hair. What else did I say about myself when I was younger? Who knew I’d be making predictions? And why couldn’t my hopes for being a rich and famous flute player with a flat in London and a house in Windsor come true?????

8 responses to “Silver Threads

  1. When I was eight I used to say I was going to marry a boy who was younger than me, who didn’t smoke and didn’t have a beard or a moustache. Amazingly, it all came true. 🙂

    I am not, however, a famous fashion designer.

    Maybe that’s a good thing.

  2. you clearly weren’t born and raised in the south because… mama and daddy is just the rules. 😛

    i skipped silver and went straight to white. i have near black hair. do you know how hard it is to hide white in near black? pretty tricky, let me tell you.

    but you still have my sympathy… because it just gets worse from here. (i kid… i kinda like the whole aging phenomenon.)

  3. Wow! I found something where we are different! I would rather be called Momma than Mommy! Oh well, I still love you! 😉 I’ve had gray hairs since I started college! You can dye, Balsam something or another, for $3-5. That’s what I use. It’s not the top of the line, but it does cover gray for a while! Don’t worry though, you will be beautiful no matter what!

  4. I’ve decided to just go gray with dignity – no dye for me! (never mind that I can’t afford it, and it’s a vicious cycle anyway) And besides, I now look at my naturally curly hair as a blessing (for 30 years it was a curse) because when I gel it you can’t see the gray hairs! 🙂

    As for the Mama vs. Mommy thing, I’m okay with mama as long as it’s “mama” and not “momma”. I know you shouldn’t be able to hear the difference when it’s just spoken, but “momma” sounds like a large woman in a flowered mumu watchin’ her stories on TV, while “mama” just sounds cute when the little ones say it. Mostly I’m just Mom now, though.

  5. I’ve had gray streaks of hair for about 5 years now. I even have a few whites too. My hair is super short now so most of the grays are hidden or else get cut off, which I like.

    A few years ago in school (math class) we were talking about certain and impossible outcomes. One student said they had an example for the class and hers was “Is it certain or impossible that Mrs. Adami has gray hair?”

    I smiled at her but was cringing in my mind!

Leave a Reply

