Random Friday

We got bikes for Christmas. Well, Aiden, Dallin, and I did. We’re still searching for one for Ches, and Parker is getting the old tricycle (but fixed up). Oh, and I’m getting a seat for Parker so once Aiden and Dallin become proficient on their bikes, we can all ride together. I haven’t had my own bike since I was, sheesh, I don’t know. 14? 13? Dang, that was a long time ago. Last week I rode my bike to Walmart (about a mile away) to return some Redbox movies. It was so fun! The wierd part? I feel like I’m still 6 years old and I have to ride as fast as I can. My legs felt like jelly when I got home, but if I wasn’t going full speed the whole way, it just didn’t feel right. Hmmmm.

*****

I have been released from my primary calling. Wo-hoooo!! It was in the works long before “The Incident” (as I shall refer to it from now on). Sunday was supposed to have been my last day, and I had a really great activity planned out so I could leave on a good note. I wanted to let the kids know that I love them (which I do!) and just kind of move forward from what happened. Sunday morning Aiden got sick. Threw up many times. Ches is a primary teacher, and his class had Sharing Time. He had this great thing all planned out. He is team-teaching the class, but the other guy was unexpectedly out of town. So who was to skip church and stay home with Aiden? I ended up staying home. It was easier to pass my activity on to someone else. I was sad, but not too sad. Aiden was sad because he wanted to help in Sharing Time (Ches is Aiden’s teacher!). Oh well.

*****

In case you’re wondering about the activity: I made a puzzle. On a 12×12 piece of cardstock I drew a picture of a family and a picture of the Temple and had the words “Families Are Forever”, then cut it into 6 pieces. I then had 6 scriptures to be read, and each scripture had to do with a song that the kids know. They had to read the scripture, answer a question or two, then guess the song. Once they sang the song, they got to put up that puzzle piece. The last song was, of course, “Families Can Be Together Forever”. I had it planned that we’d make it easier for the younger group, of course, and the scriptures read were short and had an obvious phrase in it. It all had to do with this year’s primary theme, “My Eternal Family”. From what I heard, the activity worked out pretty well. πŸ™‚ Yay.

*****

The other day I packed Dallin and Parker in the stroller and we walked to Target, bought some new Pull-ups for Dallin, then walked home. I think it was about 3 miles round trip. I was amazed at myself, and not really in a good way. I was totally not prepared for my 3 Day Walk, but I was comfortable walking 7 to 10 miles. But that was in November. I walked these 3 miles and I was tired!! I need to get back to walking. I would like to do the 3 Day again this year, but I don’t know if I can right now. I will do it again, and I will be more prepared than I was the first time. Getting worn out after 3 miles is not going to cut it.

(Of course, when I was preparing for the three day I wasn’t pushing a bulky double stroller with a 2 year old and a 3 year old, and all the gear that goes with kids to keep them occupied and warm on a walk one chilly for Arizona morning!)

*****

I just read “The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold and it was amazing! I highly recommend it. And I just saw online that it is being made into a movie with Peter Jackson (you know, of Lord of the Rings) as director. Peter Jackson is great, so I’m sure he’ll do a great job with the movie. According to IMDB, the movie will star Mark Wahlberg, Rachel Weisz, Susan Sarandon, and Stanley Tucci. Awesome.

*****

You know, I never had a problem with Mark Wahlberg as an actor. I watched the SNL skits and laughed at the portrayal of him, of course, knowing that it’s an exaggeration. Like all the characters on SNL. That’s what makes it so funny.

Then Ches and I watched “The Happening”, and I have to tell you, he sucked in this movie. His acting was exactly like the impression on SNL! It was hard to take him seriously in this movie. I just kept bursting into laughter at wierd parts. Hopefully he’ll be better in “The Lovely Bones”.

*****

I’m not usually impressed with movies made from books. I also recently watched “Tara Road”, which is one of my favorite books by Maeve Binchey. I knew when I rented the movie that it wouldn’t live up to the book. The book is long and covers a very large period of time. It is essentially in two main parts anyway, so I guessed that the movie would only cover the second half of the book. I was right about that. I knew they couldn’t put in everything I love from the book. It’s impossible to do that. I knew they would have to make changes for the movie. I really try hard to keep a book seperate in my mind from the movie. The movie was… okay. I didn’t like the casting (yes, Andie McDowell was great, but just not right for the part in my mind. And the actress who played Ria looked nothing like Ria in the book. And Rosemary wasn’t sophisticated enough!). The house in Connecticut was all wrong. And too many things felt rushed. I felt they made the movie to be more about the American woman than the Irish woman, and the book’s story was about the Irish woman! The house exchange between the two woman was secondary in the book, but played such a large part of the movie. It was just disappointing to me.

I did like watching the interview with Maeve Binchey on the DVD extras. She talked a bit more about writing the book than the actual movie, and that was cool. I’d do a house exchange with her, even though I know she is so curious and would go through our entire house to find out everything about us! I’d probably do a bit of it at her house, myself. πŸ™‚

So… if you haven’t read the book, you might like the movie. If you have read the book you might like the movie. Either way, don’t expect a lot out of it, and don’t go out of your way to watch it. It was just an okay movie. Nothing to write home about (although I guess that’s just what I did, huh?).

*****

The other night, for Aiden’s 15 minutes of reading, we started to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I read chapter 1 to him (as he very willingly followed along), and then sent him to bed. He took the book with him the next morning, and read chapters 2 and 3 at the busstop while waiting for the bus. He took the book with him again today so he could read it during free time/reading time at school. I wanted to read the whole thing with him, but he is so entranced by the book he can’t leave it.

That’s my son.

*****

A ton of pictures from high school have been put up by a friend on Facebook. I don’t know how it is possible, but the most sober, straight person in the class (yes, I’m talking about me) looks like the most drunk, stoned person in most of the pictures that I’m actually in. How is that possible????? Gah!!! And then there are pictures of me with the high school boyfriend. I don’t mind ones with us and a bunch of our friends. No biggie. But there is one of just the two of us (and me looking horrible, too) that I wish wasn’t up. Oh well. High school was a long time ago and it’s nice to see most of the pictures. There are some horrible pictures of other people that I’m sure they don’t want up, either!

*****

My goal for February: lose 5 pounds. I bought a 3 month pass to a gym for $20 (what a great deal!!), so I’m gonna use it constantly. I hear the classes at this gym are super fun. I’m hoping to start going next week… Monday night. Everyone get on (and stay on) my case about this, okay? Thanks!!

8 responses to “Random Friday

  1. I love riding bikes! Jody and I were just discussing how we like living in the city for only that reason. We like living in the country cause we have more privacy, but we miss being able to ride our bikes around.

    As far as ‘The Incident’, I’m so sorry! That totally stinks! Kids can be entirely awful sometimes! I don’t think you should feel bad at all!

    I can’t believe that Aiden can read HP by himself already! What a kid!

    I can’t believe you can go for walks at all in January! Not fair! πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with ‘filling in’ this week! My thoughts will be with you!

  2. Have you tried asking the person nicely if they wouldn’t mind removing that particular photo? Unless the high school boyfriend particularly wants it up, I can’t see why it would be a problem to take it down. Anyway, it can’t hurt to give that a try?

    Also, that’s great with Aiden being so entranced and reading the book. It takes me back…

  3. Karen, I’ve been thinking about it. On the one hand I don’t want to see it because of the bad memories, but on the other hand I don’t care if it’s up because it has good memories associated with it, too. He wasn’t just my boyfriend… he was my best friend. So… I’m still thinking about what I really want to do. I think I will untag it, though (or ask for it to be untagged. I didn’t tag that one). As it is right now, if you are on facebook and click on “photos of Sariah” that one will pop up. Hmmmmm.

  4. I wish I could get released from my calling! I’m not expecting it anytime soon though since I just got it and have taught once, but oh well, hopefully I’ll start to like it better and be more comfortable doing it.
    We watched The Happening, yeah it was so dumb! I kept waiting for something scary to happen, (the creepiest part was the old lady)

  5. With regard to walking: I have the same problem. It is so easy to lose the progress you’ve made (but easier than the first time to get it back.) Before I added Aiden to my brood I could take long walks all the time, and now that I don’t I’m embarassed at how hard it is to get the double stroller up the overpass. But I know that I can get back to where I was without as much difficulty as the first time. Hang in there, you can do it!

  6. I am jealous that it is WARM enough to ride bikes!! I really want to get outside and just move, do something… I am suffering from cabin fever after being locked up for a couple weeks but I am terrified that Camden will get RSV or something horrible. I got the hat in the mail this week… THANKS, it’s still a little big, but I’m sure in a month or so it will fit great and by then we will actually be going places! How’s the gym?? I want to get a gym membership too since it is too cold to get outside and exercise and I am going to have to find something to do to get rid of this baby weight.

  7. biking is so fun. i bet when the weather warms up a little, just before it warms up too much, you’ll be hikin’ and bikin’ with little effort at all.

    are you still taking thyroid medication?

  8. I love that Aiden is reading Harry Potter! I started reading it to Vicki when she was that age, but then Chris took over (he’s better at doing all the voices and stuff), and he wouldn’t let Vicki read ahead. They read all 7 books together in like 2 years. It was so fun! Anyway, I guess you won’t be too upset when the obsession sets in, will you!

    I wish I wasn’t such a wuss about the cold. I really need to start walking again, but I just don’t like to be cold. Good for you for getting to the gym!

Leave a Reply

