Alvin Bar, Aiden, All Y’all

This post is brought to you today by the letter A.

It’s Wednesday, I’ve been feeling horrible lately, and I need a pick-up. So… Time for 3 Beautiful Things!!

1. I got a gift card from my brother Vince and his wife Tanya for Christmas. After a lot of hemming and hawing, I decided on this duvet cover from Ikea. I love it! My plan is to finally do something with our bedroom. It’s a work in progress. 🙂 Anyway, the new bedspread is the start. I have a vision, which Dana is helping me with a bit. It involves black and white and red accents. It won’t be finished for many, many years because I have to have my own house to paint walls and I have to buy new furniture (I’d like to finally have a headboard on my bed… for the first time in my entire life!!).

2. Aiden offered to clean his room the other night before bed. And he did it!! I didn’t have to do a thing!! I’m just amazed. It’s like normally everyone in this house has some kind of handicap that prevents them from picking anything up and I’m the only one without the handicap. I’m also the only one who knows where anything goes. I don’t know how that could be (it’s very clear to me which bin the cars all go in, or which bin all the Legos go in… but whatever. And how hard is it to throw trash in a trash can??? Anyway…). It was super nice to hear Aiden say, “Mom, once I get my pajamas on should I pick up my room?” Man, I love that kid.

3. You guys. I whine and complain all the time, but you guys are such good friends. You’re always there for me, you always know the right things to say. I only know a few of you in real life, and even then, I haven’t seen most of you in SO. LONG. I wish we all lived closer so we could get together, but this is still good. You all seem to think my kids are cute and my husband is wonderful and I’m smart and fun… I’ll let this ruse continue so long as you remain my friends! 🙂 Thanks for being here. I rely on you more than you know.

8 responses to “Alvin Bar, Aiden, All Y’all

  1. Oh I just love that you wrote “all y’all”!

    You know I’m always here. And of course I think your children are cute, you post these awesome stories of Dalling being so positive and Aiden OFFERING to clean his room — what am I supposed to think?

  2. Well first of all, I LOVE that duvet. I just recently did my room up to “adult” standards…first time in 12 years. I can’t afford new furniture either and while I do own my own house I am afraid to paint (red from white walls) because I am sure some realtor will say “paint it all white” one day, and man that’s a lot of work. But I digress. My point: It’s amazing what a new duvet can do for a room! Secondly send Aiden over here to show my boys how it’s done. PLEASE. Third, I love ya! I love your blog and you need to know how much I rely on your posts too. You rock girl!

    K.

  3. I love reading your blog too 🙂 You ARE awesome!

    I feel a little bad that I didn’t even notice the y’all until Zen pointed it out. Man. I really AM southern! 😉

    Way to go Aiden!!!

  4. I love love LOVE IKEA!!! The plan for the bedroom sounds awesome! And tell Aiden he’s welcome at my house anytime – my girls are horribly handicapped in the cleaning-up department. And I’m so glad we found each other’s blogs! Your kids ARE adorable, and hey, there’s three boys here for my three girls (if your guys are interested in older women, that is 😉 ), so I’ll be sticking around for a while!

  5. Time does not, could not, erase a well-established friendship based on pizza, h.s. band, and the random email/phone call of a friend-in-need.
    I love you.
    Angel

  6. Way cute Duvet Cover! I’m glad you found something you loved! Aiden is such a good kid, I miss you guys. Christmas was so much fun!!

  7. Kids are great, just when you think you can’t stand being a mom anymore they go and do something like clean their room! Carter sure misses playing with him.

Leave a Reply

