Random (Black) Friday

I haven’t done Random Friday in quite a while, and Allison has started doing her own “Random Thought Thursday”, so that kind of kicked me in gear. Besides, I have a couple of things I wanted to say, but to devote separate posts to them just seemed kinda silly. I don’t know. So… here’s me and all (or maybe just some) of my randomness…

*****

I never really considered myself an obsessive Twilight fan, but several of you have mentioned in the comments for my last post or in other places that I’m obsessed. It’s kind of funny to me. I even wrote a post about how I like Twilight, but I LOVE Harry Potter and I LOVE Buffy the Vampire Slayer more.

I still don’t consider myself an obsessed fan, but I definitely have become more obsessed with Twilight than I was. I told my friend Kelly that I think part of it has to do with those feelings of “new love” or of a new relationship that I just don’t have anymore. Remember when you first fell in love and it was all you could do to contain yourself until you saw your significant other? Remember how your heart would flutter at the sight of him, and a giggle might even escape your lips when someone else mentioned his name? When you are first in love, your world revolves around him and just having him hold your hand is the best feeling in the world. Edward and Bella have that, and I don’t. I still love Ches, make no mistake about that. I love him more deeply now than ever, and I still miss him when he’s not with me during the day, but things are different after 10 1/2 years of marriage. Those feelings of new-ness are completely gone, and we’ll never have that again. I’m not even saying that I really want to experience that again because it’s such an awkward time, where you’re always trying to put on your best face and wondering “how can he possibly feel this same way about me???”. But I admit that I kind of miss it. Things are very comfortable now. Not exciting and new. I like comfortable. I like being secure in my feelings and knowing what his feelings are. But every now and then I crave being a teenager again or being newly in love just for the excitement factor. So I live vicariously through Edward and Bella. And I guess that is making me a little obsessed. Hmmm. I need to think on this some more.

*****

Speaking of Twilight… I forgot to mention a couple of things about the movie that I liked and/or observed. First off… the casting. I mentioned that I liked the casting job overall. When I saw Carlisle, my first thought was “How very Tom Cruise-like”. Didn’t you think they made Carlisle look an awful lot like Lestat in Interview With A Vampire? Then there was Jasper. I like Jasper in the books, even though we don’t see a whole lot of him. But in the movie, well, Kelly and I started laughing as soon as we saw him. So very Edward Scissorhands. I hope they fix that before the next movie.

The other thing I liked was some of the subtle bits they threw in… like in the scene in the cafeteria when Bella knocks an apple the the ground, but Edward catches it with his foot, kicks it up, and holds it in his hands. Then you get this nice shot that is exactly like the book cover. Okay, so maybe it wasn’t the most subtle of things, but I still got a kick out of it.

And third… I didn’t know Forks, Washington was a real town! I feel so silly. I just assumed Stephenie Meyer made it up, but I guess not. Forks, La Push, the reservation… all real places. Hmmmm.

*****

Aiden lost his first tooth in the middle of Thanksgiving dinner yesterday! He’s so funny about it. He just couldn’t stop grinning and telling us how happy he was. A few days ago he was crying because he hadn’t lost any teeth yet and I guess everyone else in his class has. We found a loose tooth right away, and he’s been wiggling it ever since. Aiden had some trouble eating because he said it hurt, but once that tooth was gone, he was fine.

The Tooth Fairy made it’s first appearance to our house last night. Aiden got a quarter for his tooth and an extra quarter because it was his very first tooth. Very exciting stuff!

*****

I guess we’re not doing the “Elusive Elf” at school after all (although I really, really liked Karen’s idea of the elf being Legolas. I could totally go for that one!!). I got the notification in my mailbox, and it’s being called “The Green Fairy”. On Day 1 our gifts are supposed to be “regifts” from something at home, Day 2 we are supposed to make a hat or something wearable from recyclable materials that we have around the house, Day 3 we give a gift of something edible (either homemade or store bought), Day 4 we are supposed to write a funny poem or note or something, and Day 5 is just a gift for under $10 and will be exchanged at the staff party… whenever that is. I did sign up to take part in the activity because I feel like while I’m working there I should really try to be apart of things. I hate feeling like an outsider. I’m making an effort.

*****

I didn’t get up to do any shopping today for black Friday. While some of the deals are enticing, I just don’t have any desire to get up extremely early or to camp out all night at a store just to get an XBox for super cheap. We just won’t get an XBox right now, and when we do, it’s worth the extra money to not freeze myself in a parking lot at 3 am. I like to sleep in.

*****

My birthday is less than a month away (Christmas Eve!!). As a reminder, I love dark chocolate with no nuts. πŸ™‚

*****

I was in Target the other day picking up a few essentials and getting Aiden a new jacket, when I walked by the little girl’s clothes. I saw all the cute Christmassy dresses and sweaters, and I had an actual ache in my heart because I don’t have a little girl. It’s wierd.

I love my sons. It’s no secret that I would like to have a girl someday, but if I don’t I’m totally fine with it. Or so I thought. I have 3 boys and I’m used to that. Besides, after teaching the Young Women and doing color guard for so long, I love teenage girls but I really really love not living with them. Girls are so dramatic! Every little thing becomes a big thing. And girls are so mean! They play these mind games and hold grudges for what seems like an eternity. When boys have a problem with each other, they punch it out and are friends again. Or they are at least done with the problem. Girls are not like that. Girls are complicated. I’m a girl. I know this. So I’ve been very grateful that I get to raise all boys.

But I still had an ache in my heart and a yearning for a daughter. Maybe I should take Ches up on his offer to get me a doll to dress up.

*****

Today is the day after Thanksgiving. For me, that means one thing: The start of Christmas! I’m going to go put on some Christmas music, then clean downstairs so we can put up our tree and start decorating. I love Christmas decorations! I love Christmas music! I love Christmas shopping! I love Christmas cards! This really is the most wonderful time of the year. For me. πŸ™‚

8 responses to “Random (Black) Friday

  1. Christmas IS the best time of the year. I love it. Jesse wants us to wait a couple more days to put up the tree and all the decor as he wants to feel like it’s Thanksgiving for a few days, but we already have a few decorations for Christmas out.

    I did go shopping today. Not the crazy, get up really early and fight it out kind, but there were a few things I needed (medicine for Gareth) and stuff that I wanted. I went later in the day and it wasn’t too bad. Of course, I refused to go anywhere near the mall…

  2. We live on just about the same road as the mall. I didn’t leave the house today haha

    Jaedin’s been super sad about not having any loose teeth too! All the kids in his primary class are losing teeth except for him. AND his cousin lost a tooth a couple weeks ago. He’s going to be so happy when he finally has a loose tooth!

  3. So have the staff seen Moulin Rouge? The green fairy is a rather wicked little creature who is associated with absinthe. Whatever… ;0)

    I have mixed feelings about the whole “first love” thing between Edward and Bella. I mean, the story depicts what every teenage girl would love in a relationship. But I don’t think it’s healthy. He is far too controlling and really a bit of a creepy stalker.

    Oh, and I didn’t like Carlyle’s look in the movie at all. And I still think Alice should be more of a delicate waif, like Audrey Hepburn. And the dress Bella wore to the prom, supposedly borrowed from Alice?! Ugh! Alice would have much better taste than that.

  4. Karen, I totally agree (on pretty much everyhting). I think and audrey Hepburn type would have been perfect for Alice, and I actually picture Esme a lot more delicate than in the movie. And younger. Actually, more of a Kate Beckinsale (in Pearl Harbor, not Van Helsing). As far as the prom dress… nice look for Bella, but not at all what Alice would have had her wear!! The dress was okay, but put it with the leggings and the shoes… yuck!!

  5. LOL! Karen’s comment about absinthe and the green fairy is great. I’ve never seen moulin rouge, but now I might have to. But first I’ll have to wait for my friends to get back from Europe so there can be absinthe involved! πŸ˜‰

    I’ve been playing Christmas music for the past 10 days, driving my roommate a little crazy. Yesterday I finally got the new Killers album (woohoo! though i don’t love it as much as their prior stuff, I’m sure it’ll grow on me) and have been playing it nonstop. So now he wants me to play Xmas music. Hmph.
    Actually, it might be more bearable if I had more than 3 christmas cds…

  6. Hee hee, I love being a trendsetter! (although apparently you were doing the random day before me, but I’ll just ignore that teeny little fact…)

    The big problem I have with books turned into movies, at least if I’ve read the book first, is that the characters never look in the movie like they do in my mind. The 4th and 5th Harry Potter films – particularly Mad Eye Moody and Tonks – attest to this. I get frustrated every time I watch them. So I have a feeling that I’ll be disappointed with some of the characters in Twilight. I’ll live, I think.

    Yay for Aiden’s tooth! Lexi is 6 and hasn’t lost one yet. I’m not sure she even has any loose teeth at the moment, so it’s becoming tragic. Hopefully soon.

    As for the little girl thing…well, I have three of them, and let me tell you I’m not looking forward to when they’re all teenagers at once! And to be honest, sometimes I look at the “little man clothes” and wish I had a boy.

  7. Ethan’s tooth is finally loose. He is seven and still hasn’t lost one. Considering he has an extra tooth and the fact that it takes forever for him to lose one, I think he is a tooth hog. Just kidding. If I ever told him that to his face he would wither like a dried up leaf and be a puddle of tears. Who needs girls for drama?

    As for Twilight. I like the earlier books. As for the movie I haven’t seen it yet, so I skipped over your review as I don’t want it spoiled for me, however my first thoughts on the casting, was they missed the mark. Maybe my mind will change when I see the movie, but that will have t wait till all the tweens are out of the theater. Don’t want to sit with giggly girls.

Leave a Reply

