Family Addition

As a part of Homecoming Week activities at Ches’ school, a carnival was held tonight that I was able to take the boys to.  The orchestra had a booth selling chocolate bars, cookies, water, and pop, and the bands had a booth where students could play Guitar Hero.  That had a nice long line the whole night. 🙂  Other booths included things like duct-taping freshmen to a wall, throwing pie in a teacher’s face (Ches was not one of the teachers, which Aiden was very thankful for.  He didn’t think the pie throwing was very nice.), a giant, inflatable obstacle course (the boys loved that one best!), face painting, improv theatre (by the theatre kids, of course!), basketball hoops, a jail (by the senior class… 6 tickets to have someone arrested, 3 tickets to bail them out), and a fishing game (by the fishing club, of course!).  It was a lot of fun for the little kids as well as the “big” high school kids, I think!  Everyone seemed to be having a good time.

We went by the fishing game to see what was to be done, and I guess they thought Aiden was pretty cute or something because they just handed him a prize:  a goldfish!  He still played one of the games (he had to eat a handful of goldfish crackers really fast.  He was supposed to be in a race against Dallin, but Dallin refused to play), but was just ecstatic about his new pet.  His first pet!!  We left the carnival and went straight to Wal-Mart to buy a fishbowl and accessories and fish food. The habitat

Aiden immediately came up with a name.  May I now introduce… (drumroll please)… Brenden Joseph Sharp.
The fish.
By the way… do you know how hard it is to take a picture of a goldfish IN a fishbowl??? As much as I wish I was, I’m not exactly a photographer. Okay, so I have a camera and I take pictures, but that’s it. I took a bajillion pictures, and these are the only decent ones! Crazy. 🙂

The boys couldn’t be happier. All night Aiden keeps saying, “I can’t believe I won my first pet!” and Dallin keeps talking to the fish, “Hello, Brenden. Are you happy there, Brenden?” Even Parker is focused totally on the fish… of course I need to keep a close eye on him. I caught him trying to play with Brended by pulling the the treasure chest out of the bowl several times. That poor, scared fish. I hope he can handle being in a family of three boys!!

8 responses to “Family Addition

  1. What a cool carnival!

    I think I used to call my goldfish, Fishy. I do not claim to be a very imaginative person. I love that your fish is a real part of the family.

    I do hope, for his sake, that he does not have the same lack of memory that is usually attributed to goldfish, otherwise everytime he came around the corner and saw six little (cute, I might add) eyes staring at him, he might be overwhealmed.

  2. Oh my gosh that sounds like so much fun. For some reason I am thinking of the movie Grease with John Travolta and Olivia Newton John. (That would be a cool name for a girl fish. It kind of matches with Brenden Joseph Sharp.)

  3. How fun! It seems like you have some great activities out there! That is so exciting for the boys to have their first pet! I hope he lives!! 😉

Leave a Reply

