Step On A Crack…

The human body is such a strange thing.  You can do the same thing day after day, and one day your body says to you “Hey, I’m gonna shake things up a bit” and there’s not a thing you can do about it.

Yesterday I was putting Dallin and Parker in the van.  I had to bend in and pull Parker before he went to the front seat (his preferred choice of seating arrangements these days, although he’s never been allowed to sit in the front).  Suddenly and without any kind of warning, I felt a sharp pain in my lower back.  It quite literally knocked me to my knees.  I’m still not sure what happened, but let me tell you I am in PAIN.  I can’t sit.  I can’t walk.  I definitely can’t stand.  I can only lay down in one position.

I tried the heat treatment yesterday, and last night Ches bought me a new ice pack, so I’m trying that today.  I had an ice pack on my back during the night last night and it seemed to really help.  I have a bunch of pain medication left from my c-section, and that has helped ease my pain from excruciating to just a lot.  Whatever helps.

Of course it happens on a day that I had to drive all the way to my new work and on the day Ches has a night rehearsal and doesn’t get home until very late and on the day before Ches has an away football game, so won’t be home until late tonight.  My kids are watching a lot of movies last night and all day today.

8 responses to “Step On A Crack…

  1. My back has been killing me for the past 2 days. I can move, but not well, and even lying down hurts. I need to get a new ice pack too. I wish I could take something stronger than Tylenol.

    I hope you feel better soon.

  2. I’m sorry that you are hurting. Back pain is definitely not fun. You don’t realize how much you use your back until it hurts! I hope that it gets better real soon!

  3. Ugh, no fun! I did this about six months ago pulling laundry out of the dirty clothes hamper. I seriously have no idea what I did to my back, but it killed for two days and took about four more to get back to normal. Then I did it again about a month later pulling stuffing from our imitation LoveSac. It got better faster that time, but that may have been because the kids were at Grandma’s so I got to lay around and soak in the hot bath all I wanted. As if knowing this helps you at all…

    Anyway, I hope you get back to normal really soon! It’s no fun being out of commission with kids, is it? Good luck!

  4. OUCH!!! I hope you get better soon! It’s pretty hard to be a stay-at-home mom when you can’t move, and teaching school besides…?! Good luck, I wihs you the best!

Leave a Reply

