Oops, I Did It Again

We went to one of the neighborhood pools today, but not the one near our house, so I thought it’d be easiest to just throw the kids in the van and go.  We had a great time swimming, and there were no fights when it was time to go.  I got Dallin and Parker in their seats, with seatbelts on, of course, then shut the van door.

It was like slow-motion.  As I was shutting the door, I saw that all the locks were in the down position and my keys were sitting on the driver’s seat.  It was too late.  I locked my kids in the van.  Again.

After several unsuccessful attempts to get Dallin to somehow escape from his seatbelt (dang five point harness!  You and your safety!!), I realized that I had a key ring in my hand.  It didn’t have an extra key to the van, but it DID have a house key on it (with the pool and mail keys), so I decided to run home and grab the extra set of keys.

The important word here is “run”.  I don’t run.  I’m fat.  I’m out of shape.  I was wearing a very wet bathing suit, a towel loosely wrapped around my waist, and flip flops on my feet.  This was not going to be fun, but I was starting to freak out about my kids being in the van with no windows open at noon in Arizona.  I started to run.  I decided to take what I thought would be a short cut, but found out later I would have been thwarted by a very high wall.  I would have climbed it, I’m sure.  What a sight that would have been!  As it was, I was very out of breath and trying to keep my towel on my waist, when I saw a woman watering some plants outside her house.  I can only imagine what I must have looked like as she said “hi” and asked me if everything was okay.  She also acted as if she knew me, so I asked her for a ride to my house and back to the van.  I explained the situation (and introduced myself… her name is Erica and she goes to my church, so I guess she kind of DOES know me… her kids do anyway.  heh), and she dropped her water hose, grabbed her keys, and we were out the driveway before you could say “911”. 

I’m thinking I need to make some cookies for her today.  I seriously must have looked like some kind of deranged freak, but she was more than nice, more than willing to help, no hesitation.  Some people are just nice.

And some people (cough*me*cough) are complete idiots.  I think I should get one of those magnetic keyholders that you stick under your car.

8 responses to “Oops, I Did It Again

  1. I used to lock my keys the car far too often. Now I only lock the doors using the key ring (same for unlocking) so I don’t do that any more. I think the idea of you getting one of those magnetic things for your car is a great idea!

    Thank heavens for good Samaratins! I’m glad you were able to get a ride.

  2. Wow, I’m so glad Erica was there to help! How scary!!!

    I *hate* those slow motion moments where you see the door closing and know that it’s too late. I’ve locked the keys in the car before and it was the exact same thing. But the kids weren’t in there. *PHEW!* I’m glad everything turned out all right!

  3. Oooh, I did that once, but the car was on and the AC was running, plus the kid was asleep and therefore oblivious to the potential trauma, so it wasn’t nearly as scary as what you went through! Oh, and it was probably about 80 degrees in Utah, as opposed to unholy degrees in Arizona. Glad you have a helpful neighbor and the kids are okay!

    Oh, and don’t kick yourself too hard – I don’t think you can be a good mom if you don’t do stupid stuff every once in a while. It’s got to be a written rule somewhere!

  4. Is it bad if I’m laughing right now? That is seriously something that I would do… I haven’t done it yet BUT I can seriously see it happening to me. I think I would have just called the fire dept. I hear they will come and open your car if there are kids locked inside. I’m glad that everything worked out and you found someone to help!

  5. All I have to say is, been there done that. Good thing for me my son was a escape artist and could get out of his five point harness car seat by the time he was about 2. He is just to darn smart for his own good. Imagine my surprise driving down the highway and have your son touch you on the shoulder and say hi mommy. Freeked me out.

Leave a Reply

