Don’t Hate Me, But…

I don’t think the Twilight books are really all that. Don’t get me wrong. I love them. I’m anxiously waiting for my turn to get “Breaking Dawn” from the library and trying not to run across spoilers. I love Edward and can’t wait to see the movie this December because I think Robert Pattinson will make an excellent Edward, no matter what a lot of other people say.

But all the comparisons to Harry Potter? Sorry. I love Harry Potter more than just about anything. I’m not an uberfan (I don’t know McGonagall’s middle name, for example) but I love everything to do with Harry Potter and the magical world. I get totally lost in that world. I dream of witches and wizards. I wish I wasn’t a muggle. I wish I could have gone to Hogwarts (so I also really wish I was British!!). I have taught my kids who to properly pronounce words like “ridikulus” and “levicorpus” and how to do a good “swish and flick”. Aiden’s favorite thing is to point a wand at his brothers and yell “Expelliarmis!” The Harry Potter world is very real in my mind. Forks, Washington, seems like a nice town (I love the Pacific Northwest and all the rain. Seriously.), but it’s not all that real to me. I could see myself being friends with Bella (we have that clutzy thing in common. heh), but I would be intimidated as I’ll get out by the Cullens. The Twilight world is fun for me to visit as I read, but I don’t get stuck there as I do in the Harry Potter world.

Then there are the comparisons of Edward and Bella to Buffy and Angel. Ummm, hello? There is no comparison! The only thing they have in common is that he is a vampire and she is a mortal girl. End of all likeness. Angel is a vampire with a soul on a quest for atonement. Buffy is “like a superhero or something”, being The Slayer and all. She has super human skills that came with the calling of The Slayer. And the point of her existance is to slay all the vampires. Edward is a vampire with a concious, not a soul. Quite a difference in my book. Bella is just a girl… an every day, totally normal girl (which is why we love her!).

Anyway, which do you love more? “Twilight” or Harry Potter? Or Buffy? Or is there something else?

11 responses to “Don’t Hate Me, But…

  1. Never was a Buffy fan, so I can’t compare to that. I like the Twilight books for their entertainment value, but they are limited in their complexity. It’s just one long extended teenage girl romance. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I can get carried along in that world too, but it’s just a pleasant boat ride on a gentle river. Harry Potter is a world I can really submerge myself in. Hey, I’m the one who took a train to Ottawa all by myself to attend a Harry Potter convention. I didn’t know a soul, but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Oh well, I’m looking forward to the Twilight movie, but I was never hanging on the edge of my seat waiting to find out Bella’s fate the way I always was with Harry. No comparison as far as I’m concerned.

  2. I really need to read the Twilight series. Everyone is always talking about it!!!

    I never got into Harry Potter. I read the first few books but they really didn’t interest me much. Maybe when the kids are older and want to read it with me I’ll get more into it.

    I know I’ve seen Buffy. I don’t really remember it though.

    I’m lame 🙂

  3. I haven’t even heard of the Twilight series, am I living under a rock? Is this huge?

    I am a big Buffy fan, although the Buffy-Angel storyline was not my favorite by far… in some ways I thought he Buffy Spike storyline was infinitely more interesting.

    Big fan of the Harry Potter series as well. I have read all the books and seen/own all the movies. If I had to choose between Harry Potter and Buffy, … have to get back to you on that one, to hard to say.

  4. I’m in the same boat as feathersky, I’m lame. 😉 I have never read Harry Potter, the Twilight series or seen Buffy.

    The series that I got lost in was Beverly Lewis’ Abram’s Daughters series. They have great entertainment value, but they, too, are limited in their complexity.

  5. I have only read the last 2 HP books and loved them both. Read all 4 of the Twilight Series and well I loved them. I’m an avid fan of Edwards. But I really love the HP movies and just seeing the previews of Twilight doesn’t do anything for me. I don’t have the “I can’t wait till it comes out” jitters, who knows maybe I’ll like it. Anyway, I’m rambling now, so I’ll be quiet, lol.

  6. I like them both. I can get lost both in the HP world and in the Twilight world. I don’t think I can really compare them, though. I know they’re both in the fantasy genre, but I don’t think they’re similar enough for any comparisons. As for comparing Twilight to Buffy, well, I still think they’re totally different even if you do have a vampire and a mortal in love. I wouldn’t say one is better than the other, they’re both enjoyable to me. Besides, one is a TV series and the other is novels. It’s not like comparing a novel to the movie version of that same story. They’re just different.

    (Oh, and for the Edward doesn’t actually have a soul, we don’t really know that. It’s never answered whether or not vampires have them or not.)

  7. Harry Potter all the way here!!! I’m like you in that my children have been properly indoctrinated in the Harry Potter world. Vicki has already read all the books more than once, and even Ellie turns all long thin objects into “magic sticks” (we’re working on calling them “wands”, of course), which she uses to point at people and shout “Expecto patrunum!” I can totally get lost in those books, although the movies don’t do as much for me.

    The Twilight series is good. It’s like crack in print (but then, really, who could put HP book 7 down?). But it’s not the same. You can’t even compare the two, really. Harry Potter is an epic. Twiglight is a story.

    As for Buffy, I think I saw one episode, once, a long, long time ago, so no opinion on that one.

  8. I really liked the first Twilight book – they just went downhill from there though for me. I was extremely dissapointed in the final book – it was horribly predictable and too me felt like she was just writing it because she had to finish the terms of the contract. I still enjoyed it, but it isn’t one that I am dying to buy and put on my bookshelf.

  9. I guess I must be missing something in life because I have never felt so submerged in any book or series as you described yourself with Harry Potter (in fact I have not read the Harry Potter books – in my defense with the exception of the last 8 months I have been reading nutrition books for about 5 years) The Twilight books were entertaining for me but you won’t see me wearing an I love Edward t-shirt. I too am waiting for the last book (my sister just mailed me her copy) and it is really hard to not have it ruined because everyone seems to be talking about them. Maybe I will find my “Harry Potter” one of these days.

  10. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "heh" - JabberTags

  11. Pingback: Random (Black) Friday « Chocolate Phoenix

Leave a Reply

