They Make Me Run Fast, Like Dash!

After dinner, scripture reading, and family prayer, the boys were just bouncing off the walls, so Ches said “Get your shoes on.  We’re going outside.”  He took the boys to the playground across the street.  I headed upstairs to the computer to finally get a turn without someone begging to play Marble Blast Gold or Word Twist.  First, I checked on my personal page at the3day.org, then just as I logged in to Facebook, the phone rang.

It was Ches.  “You should go to Payless and get yourself some new shoes so you can get back to training for your walk.”

Big pause.

“Huh? Now?”  I was so confused because we haven’t even talked about me getting new shoes in a while, and this just seemed to come randomly out of nowhere.

“Yeah, I mean, I know there isn’t much time, but you can go if you want.  You don’t have to.  Whatever.”  Ches was so nonchalant about the whole thing.  I was still confused and I don’t think anything comprehensible came out of my mouth at that point.

“Well, I don’t mean to interrupt your computer time,” Ches continued.  “I just thought you’d like to get yourself some new running shoes.  Just don’t bankrupt us.”

So I headed to Payless.  Now, I know I’m not going to get any top of the line cross trainers there, but I know I could find SOMETHING that should last for a little while, at least.  I tried on several cute pairs (that weren’t so cute once they got on my ugly feet), and I tried on some pink runners (I really, really want pink runners for my walk!  I just think it’s appropriate, don’t you??), but I didn’t like the way they felt.  Finally, I tried on some cute, lime green Champions.  They breathe well, fit well, and didn’t rub any part of my feet in any odd way.  Oh, and they were on sale, so they only cost $9.70!!!  How awesome is that????  

I showed my new, awesome, cute, cheap, fun shoes to Ches, and he smiled and said, “How girly.”

But they aren’t the pink ones!!!  🙂

8 responses to “They Make Me Run Fast, Like Dash!

  1. YAY for new shoes!!! How cool of Ches to tell you to take some time to go and get some! Tell him how awesome I think he is, for me, ok?!

    I, too, think the lime green ones will be awesome! I really like the Champion shoes I got there a year or so ago! Have fun training!

  2. I need new walking shoes too. The bottoms are falling off of mine. I *hate* breaking in new pairs of shoes though!

    Right before the walk you can spray paint your shoes pink and no one will be the wiser 🙂

  3. right now teva.com is having a clearance sale and they have shoes for $14.99 (They have a beige pair with pink striping. I just bought those.) They’re really nice!

    If money were no object, I say Merrill is the only walking shoe a person should ever buy. But I like my new tevas for non-Disneyland-like walks.

  4. I forgot to add that the tevas are also made from recycled materials.

    Did I mention I like my new shoes? I’m glad you like yours, too, but I think you need a back-up pair. 😉

Leave a Reply

