See Ya On The Other Side

No, this is not another death post.  Yay.  But here’s an update… the bird passed away peacefully and Aiden surprisingly is okay.  This kid is always coming to us at random times and saying that he doesn’t want us to die or that he doesn’t want to grow up and get old, and so forth. Then he starts crying like crazy and we have a hard time calming him down and explaining that noone is dying anytime soon and it’s really not something to worry about.

The funny part was, Aiden said, “I think we should put up a sign that says ‘WARNING!  Old, dying bird in backyard.  Stay back.'”  What a kid.

We are almost all ready for the big move.  We signed the lease and got our keys and garage door openers (YAY for a garage!!).  Almost everything is packed.  Tomorrow is going to be a long day, I’m sure.  

Ches was calling around to get our address changed on all the important things and get services moved over and such.  One lady was such a freak.  He had to give our Social Security Numbers for something.  Now, both of our SSNs start with zeros.  Mine actually has two.  So then the lady (if we really want to call her that) says to Ches, “That’s odd.  Aren’t those public service numbers?”  Uhhh, no.  Ches got his while in Canada, and I was in Maine when I got mine.  Overseas and back East start with zeros, weird woman.

Then, Ches gives our names and spells them out.  Want to know what she actually said when she hears my name?  Grr, this really ticks me off.  She said, “That’s close to Sarah.  Why not use Sarah?  What’s wrong with Sarah?  Why did they have to make things so hard?”

She didn’t say anything about Chesley.  Heh.

I LIKE my name.  In fact, I LOVE my name.  It hasn’t always been that way, but I’ve grown up and came to really love it.  It’s fun having a unique name.  The Sariah I was named after is such a good example for me to follow, as a mother.  Sariah is an old, middle-eastern name that means (roughly) “princess of God”.  It reaffirms my divine heritage as a daughter of God.  It is a very popular name in places like Iraq and Iran, so it’s got a nice ethnic ring to it.  There is nothing boring about the name Sariah.  Besides, of all the Sariahs I have met — and I have met a few of them — all Sariahs are the coolest people ever!!  We are all friendly and fun and good natured.

That woman was so lucky I have no voice right now, or I would have had to call back and tell her off.  That’s just bad business to offend your customers like that.  You don’t have to like my name.  You also don’t have to say anything about it to my husband.  What a freak.

So, tomorrow (is it today now?????  Yup.  I better get to bed!!) we move to our new house.  I’m so sick of moving.  I wish I had a magic wand that I could just swish and flick and everything would be moved.  Okay, so swish and flick makes things float.  But I bet if I said it with the right charm or incantation, it would work.  Man, I wish I went to Hogwarts.

Sorry, went off on a tangent there.  As I was saying… we are moving, and apparantly no one can hook up our phone and internet until Tuesday.  Tuesday!!!  I’m going to die if I can’t play Scrabbulous and Word Twist and Scramble!!  Oh well.  Gives me plenty of time to actually get the house unpacked and set up just the way I want it.

Hopefully my voice will be back tomorrow, too.  It’s very hard to discipline your children (calling them from across the yard or the house) when everything comes out in a soft whisper.  Blech.

Oh!  Did you know that Cedric Diggory is going to be Edward Cullen????  That makes me happy.  I know there are a lot of complaints that he isn’t good looking enough, but I think it works.  I’m so excited to see “Twilight” in December!!

I’m now off to bed.  I haven’t been sleeping well with this cough and congestion I have, so I kind of wait until I’m so tired that I can’t possibly keep my eyes open anymore, just so I’ll actually sleep.  Of course, it doesn’t always work, and my eyes aren’t completely droopy, so we’ll see how it goes.  I’ll put on some Vapo Rub, take some generic Ny-Quil, prop up my pillows, and attempt to get some rest.  Without hacking out my lungs.

See ya Tuesday, ya’ll!!

7 responses to “See Ya On The Other Side

  1. I moved into a house at the beginning of May. My friend helped us move and the whole time we wished that Dumbledore would walk through the door and POOF all of our stuff to the new house. We also wished that with that one POOF the stuff we didn’t need would end up where it needed to, the trash, goodwill, etc.

  2. Good luck on the move! I know how much you hate moving. I still remember your move out there, and how you had told Ches you only have one move left. Isn’t it amazing how we think we don’t have anything left in us and we somehow manage to suffer through again and again.

  3. Good luck!!!

    The sign for the backyard made me laugh. Cute. lol

    I’m totally with ya on the Sariah issue! 😉

    And yeah, I’m one of the ones who didn’t think “Cedric” could pull off an Edward, but he’s grown on me, and I am really looking forward to it now too. 🙂 (For the record, I have always thought that “Cedric” was good looking. But the initial photos I saw of Robert as a vampire didn’t impress me as much… like I said, I’ve seen more footage since then and I can see it now.)

  4. It’s funny. The Boy is in the know about all this Twilight stuff. He was the one who told me about the movie and about “Cedric Diggory” playing Edward Cullen. I just checked out candid images of the filming and all of the casting works for me. However, the airbrushed “professional” images I have seen promoting the movie look terrible, and I would have grave doubts if that was all I had to go on. I can’t decide what I’m waiting for more: the next book (in August I think?) or the film in December.

  5. I think I’m out of the loop on a book series which sounds quite intriguing. You’ll hve to tell me about it, Sariah. And if you already did, and I forgot, well, I have it on good authority [a five year old’s accusing tone as she said, “Are you OLD?” because I forgot a couple things.] that I forget because of my greatly advanced years.

    Send Dumbledore my way when you finish your move–ours looks to be in a couple, three [I love you, Sariah!] weeks. Then my friend, Allyson, could use his services in July. Wow–what a business. I wish you HAD gone to Hogwarts!

    Love Aiden’s backyard sign!

  6. Oooh – I am excited to see the movie in December – and to read the next book – yay! Yay! So, I think you will have like ten word twist games waiting for you when you get back online 🙂 I hope your move goes well!

Leave a Reply

