I Watch A Lot Of HGTV

As most (all?) of you know, our friends that own the house we are living in have decided to put it on the market.  He wants to get his doctorate, and the house will pay for school.  I have appreciated how kind our friends have been to us, and I have loved living in this house.  We had planned on moving anyway, so it’s not like we’re getting kicked out or anything.  We want to be closer to where Ches teaches.  With the hours he pulls, a 30 minute commute is just too much.  That and the price of gas is outrageous!

Anyway, our friends hired a realtor, and he called one day and asked if he could come look at the house.  I said, “Sure, if you don’t mind that it’s messy.”  Now, it seems to me that we all have different ideas of what “messy” really means.  I’ve been to too many houses where the host will say, “Excuse the mess” and all I see is a couple of small toys and maybe a baby’s sock on the floor.  Seriously.  I’m not a good housekeeper, so I knew that this was going to be hard for me.

I had to get the house ready to show.  I knew I would have to keep it clean and clutter-free (which is really hard when you’re a packrat, like me.  And Ches.  He is too, just not as much as I) and stage the rooms to show them off.  The market is not a seller’s market right now, and I really want to help my friends sell their house, so I have to do this right.  So the realtor came over, and the first thing I said to him was, “Now, it’s really, really messy in here, but I watch a lot of HGTV, so I know what I need to do.”  He laughed and basically said that all the information I would need comes from that channel.

After he looked through the house, he said there are the “Three C’s” that sellers need to worry about: Clean, Clutter, Color.  The house must be clean, clutter-free (not too many pictures on the walls, not so many bookshelves scattered in any spare space we have…), and have good colors painted on the walls.  Well, we don’t have any say for the colors, but they are pretty neutral and look really good where it’s not neutral.

The outside of the house has been painted.  The front yard is totally relandscaped.  I spent all of Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and this morning cleaning the house and packing away things (since we’re are moving anyway).

I.  Am.  Exhausted.

But dang it all, my house looks goooooood. 🙂  Last night I said to Ches, “Aren’t you so proud of me?”  He was so happy.  He then said, “See, you can get the house clean!” and I replied with, “GET it clean, yes.  KEEP it clean, well, that’s a whole different story.”  Pray for me, people.  I need serious help!!

3 responses to “I Watch A Lot Of HGTV

  1. I’m sure you’ll be fine. Especially since you have a really good reason to keep it clean. Let’s face it, most days it’s easier to live with clutter (you do have 3 active boys after all), but for your friend’s sake you can put forth the extra effort and keep the house as clean as it needs to be. I have faith in you!

  2. I agree with Lura. My house is so clean now compared to when I had little children, because I don’t have the clutter of kids. I’m packing away books, and moving bookshelves out, so that eliminates a bunch more clutter as you said. But in norman daily life, I’m glad I worried less about stuff than doing things with my kids [although, maybe cleaning more would have been good, if I’d really known how!] But I don’t regret the days spent at the park or the days spent coloring murals on the paper on the wall etc. So while you want to keep the house in “showroom” status–don’t despair if you have to redo sometimes, because you are, afte all, still LIVING there. [And yo’ve proven you can get it ready anyway!]

Leave a Reply

