The Results Are In…

We received the letter from the school about Aiden’s testing for the gifted program.  He is officially “gifted”!  He scored in the 99th percentile for cognitive, the 95th percentile for spatial, and the 35th percentile for verbal.

That’s right.  35th.  Doesn’t that seem wierd to you?  It sure does to me.  So I’m going to definitely be asking about that part.  I will have him retested for that if I have too.  Believe me when I say there is NO WAY this child is only in the 35th percentile for verbal.  Although when I was talking to the Primary President at church yesterday, she said, “Well, of course.  Because if he doesn’t want to do something, he won’t.  That’s Aiden.”  That made perfect sense to me, as I was afraid of all the testing because I knew he will just refuse to do something if he doesn’t like it or if he finds it too dull.

Anyway, with this “diagnosis” comes extra attention at school.  Yay!  He’s supposed to get something like 2-3 hours a week of extra something.  I don’t know what, but something.  I think Aiden will like it.  He’s really thriving in his reading group (he was moved to the top reading group in a first grade class), and he asks to attend Clubs after school.  Apparantly Clubs is actually extra instruction for the kids who are having difficulties and are behind.  Aiden just wants to do something fun, and I guess a lot of kids he knows have to go to Clubs. When I told him it was for kids who needed extra help, he said, “But I’m having difficulties, too!”  I was worried he’d purposely fall behind just to get to hang out with other kids, but he didn’t.

We got his progress report this weekend, and he’s doing well in all his subjects and is really improving in his listening skills.  He’s following directions better, and is working on not interrupting Miss B. when she is talking.

In other news… Aiden has asked to play hockey.  Well, not only can we not afford it, but he has never been ice skating.  However, I found out about free skating/hockey lessons through the Phoenix Coyotes.  It’s a program called Tanner’s Kids.  He goes for three 45 minute sessions, gets a jersey, and gets to use skates and hockey equipment there.  The only requirements are the child must be between ages 4 and 9, and the child can’t be registered for any other skating or hockey program.  Aiden fits, so I signed him up.  His first lesson is March 10th, and he couldn’t be more excited.  I’m not looking forward to driving up to Scottsdale at the beginning of rush hour, but oh well.  He really wants to do this.  I hope he has fun (but not too much fun, because we still can’t afford to sign him up for hockey once the lessons are over!).

All in all, I think it’s a good time to be Aiden. 😀

6 responses to “The Results Are In…

  1. YAY Aiden!! that’s exciting, I’m glad he’s enjoying school and doing so well. Hockey huh?? how fun, I’m sure Erica and Richard will be proud 🙂

  2. SO EXCITED ABOUT THE HOCKEY — HOORAY!

    As for the testing … I’m not big on tests as it is, but let me say one thing. It is not uncommon for a child to excell in one area but not in another. I wouldn’t be concerned at all, and frankly, I wouldn’t retest as you already wonder if he scored poorly simply by refusal. If he’s already getting the extra attention you wanted in the first place, then what would be the purpose of further testing?

    You’re right, it’s a good time to be Aiden. He’s especially lucky because he has a mother who loves him so much.

  3. Yay hockey and extra attention. The hockey is really expensive, and I don’t suppose there’s much call for it in Arizona (well, compared to anywhere in Canada I mean). I’m glad there’s a program he can get into, though.

    There’s an ad here with a kid maybe 9 or 10 going into a store with a “Help Wanted” sign asking if he can have the job. The old man behind the counter says, “Shouldn’t you be out playing hockey or something?” The kid’s answer is, “That’s what I’m trying to do.” Of course the commercial is for a program that helps kids whose families can’t afford to let them play hockey.

    I think it’s some kind of sin in Canada to deprive a kid of hockey if he (or she) wants to play. 😀

  4. Yay for Aiden!!! What a smart kid! And yay for the extra attention at school! That’s fantastic that they are going to let him excel in what he’s great at. I agree with Heather, don’t worry about that one test score. You already know why it’s low–cuz obviously anyone who talks to him knows his verbal skills are top-notch.

    Hockey sounds like fun! How exciting and fantastic that there is that program there! Jaedin has been so crazy about Ninja warrior & Gladiator I’m thinking of putting him in gymnastics or something so that he can do crazy moves in a controlled environment instead of off the kitchen table. We’ll see!

  5. “That’s my boy!!” I get to say that a lot with 2 sons and 5 grandsons [to date]. I remember when Mrs. w told me that I would be receiving a Title 1 letter on a certain gifted daughter of mine. The testing was done on a really bad day for you, and you in no way co-operated with anyone or anything. She told me to ignore it.

    As for the hockey, how could you not expect it? We’ve only given him every hockey outfit / shirt/ toy etc up to and including skates since birth! Ches started it. That’s whjat you get for marrying a Canadian [love you, Ches!] Hint: keep an extra blanket and gloves in the car at all times for the next couple of decades! As for affording to keep Aiden in hockey, I expect you’ll probably get some help, and inline is fairly interchangable. Especially in warm climates where the ice is never great.
    ggghtv
    from Mom–with Gareth’s help at the end!

Leave a Reply

