Parker’s Room, Hot Chocolate, Folded Laundry

I haven’t given any Three Beautiful Things lately, and I need a little pick-me-up, so I thought I’d share some with you all right now.

1.  Parker is in his own bedroom!!  He slept in his crib all the way until 2 am last night.  Then he spent the rest of the night with Ches and me.  It’s an improvement!  I think the ceilings turned out well (for those that have asked… I don’t remember what the technique is called.  It looks kind of like stucco, but less severe.  Our walls are all orange peel, and the ceilings are not.  BTW, what is this California ceiling some of you have mentioned??) and I’m proud of myself for doing everything except 2/3 of the scraping of the popcorn.  I even moved the furniture and stuff all by myself.  Now that the living room is cleared up… I’m ready for the Christmas tree! 🙂  It’s amazing all the things in our lives that have become affected by the ceiling in one little room.

2.  Boxes of Swiss Miss hot chocolate was on sale the other day at Albertson’s for $1 a box.  I only bought 2 boxes (I had a limited budget and a few things I had to buy), but I love what I have.  I got one box of dark chocolate delight and one regular milk chocolate.  At this very moment I am drinking some of the dark chocolate.  Whenever I need chocolate but we don’t have any around the house, I drink hot chocolate.  Mmmmmm.  I’m more addicted to hot chocolate than I am to Scrabbulous.

3.  I got three loads of laundry folded so far today!  Yay!  I have a load in the dryer that needs to be folded, then a load of towels that is about to go into the dryer.  I swear that laundry is the never-ending battle.  I dream of actually having two washers and two dryers some day.  Seems silly, I’m sure, but maybe then I could stay a bit more caught up.  Then again, I need others to fold and iron for me so I don’t get behind in that, but we’ll figure that out if/when we get the two washers and two dryers.  Anyway, actually folding the laundry… that’s a big deal for me.  Now I just have to get it all put away before some little monsters climb onto my bed and decide nothing else can be on the bed with them.  It’s been known to happen.

3 responses to “Parker’s Room, Hot Chocolate, Folded Laundry

  1. I try and help my wife with laundry, she doesn’t mind doing laundry but her least favorite part is folding and putting laundry away. I don’t mind it so I try and help there. However, my 2 year old son likes to help with laundry too. Apparently he thinks that I do a much better job folding a shirt on my second try; so he likes to take all of the clothes I have folded and bring them back to me for a second go-round. It is sweet but it is the reason I usually fold laundry after he has gone to bed.

  2. Good for you on the laundry – you are so far ahead of me. With all the sick kids this week I was doing at least two loads a day, and none of it folded yet. I don’t mind the folding – I usually watch Pride and Prejudice or something similar to take the boredom away – it’s hauling the huge baskets in from the laundry room that drive me nuts. 🙂 And we have similar monsters in our house. 😉

    Yay for hot chocolate! A friend introduced us to the most devine thing that makes hot chocolate soooo creamy – we add coffee creamers to it. It’s kinda fun to get some of the different flavors too. Mmmmmm.

    last of all, yay for Parker and for ceilings! 🙂

  3. This is the best example I could find of an explanation for a “California” finish for stucco. (It’s probably only called that here in Canada, just like Americans call peameal bacon “Canadian bacon”.) It basically means you spray the stucco finish on loosely and then flatten the lumps. Anyway, here is the link that (sort of) explains it:

    http://www.danspaintingltd.com/index_files/page0003.htm

    Now hopefully this comment won’t end up in your spam pile…

Leave a Reply

