Catching Up

How was your Thanksgiving weekend, everyone? Our was good.  Uneventful (which is a good thing in this household of active monsters, I mean boys).  We were invited to Thanksgiving dinner at some friends’ house.  We went there last year, too.  It was really fun to hang out with their big family.  Their kids all played with my kids, and Ches and I got to play games with the grownups.  There were two turkeys:  one regular roasted (or “original”, as Aiden called it) and one smoked.  Mmmmm.  I made sweet potato casserole… the Southern way.  None of this marshmallow on top business.  At first everyone was asking me what exactly the dish was and I had to convince them to try it.  But one they took a bite, they were hooked.  There was none left to take home. 🙂  We ate dinner outside.  It was so nice out.  Ahh, the beauty of living in Phoenix!  In fact, I even got hot in the sun, but once the sun started to go down a breeze picked up and I was glad I had put long sleeves on the boys.  Once it was dark, the family lit up the firepit and we roasted marshmallows and had s’mores.  It was a good day.

We did NOT get up to go shopping on Black Friday.  No way, no how.  And since when is it okay for stores to open at 4 am???  People used to get up at 4 to get in line for these stores that opened at 6.  I’m not willing to wait in line all night just to save a few bucks on DVDs (which is what some people were doing!!  Crazy) and I’m not shopping for cameras, flat screen TVs, or a Wii, so I just didn’t need to be there.  I was happily sleeping in my comfy and warm bed at 4 am, 6 am, and even 8 am.  Oh, and if I was going to shop on Black Friday, I would have gone to Ikea.  They opened at 8 am and gave out free breakfast in addition to having the great sales.

Friday was spent clearing out the back room (the office/music room/craft room/ storage room) and I started scraping the popcorn ceilings.  I only got about a third of it done before it was too dark to see, and I was tired.  My wrist hurt (dang tendonitis from college strikes again!!) and my elbow hurt, so I figured I’d just pick it up in the morning.  Unfortunately, I was in so much pain I could hardly sleep.  When I did wake up Saturday morning, I found Ches in the back room, finishing all the scraping.  Is he not the most awesome husband??  Later I started the retexturing of the ceiling.  I got it finished in time for dinner.  I was going to prime and paint it yesterday (Sunday), but that never happened.  So here it is, Monday morning, and I already have it all primed!!  Only another hour before I should be able to paint it, then I can start moving Parker’s stuff in there and my craft table back in there.  Clear the living room of the junk we had to move out of the back room, and tonight we can put up our Christmas tree for Family Home Evening!  YAY!!!

I’m feeling so handy, so HGTV!!! 🙂

7 responses to “Catching Up

  1. You gotta love HGTV. I don’t of any other channel that sparks so much ambition in my wife and I. Because of HGTV I have spent countless hours in my backyard fixing the landscaping and am in the process of re-flooring our bathroom.
    How corny that I get such a rush from feeling handy.

  2. Sorry to hear about your elbow. At least you got it a good way. What texture did you replace the popcorn with? We have California ceilings in some areas, but they didn’t do a good job on it and it looks worse than popcorn. I hope your ceiling turned out the way you wanted it to.

  3. You should have done as the Canadians do…embrace the popcorn ceiling…love the popcorn ceiling…hehe. Seriously how did you retexture it and what does it look like now? We have “California knock down” on all the walls here and it drives me nuts. I am going to get rid of it in the bathrooms someday. Like I need more dust in this house. Thanksgiving was good here too except we had our turke on Saturday. Ethan told his teachers at school and church that we did it late because “my mom couldn’t get it together in time” which made me laugh out loud. I CHOSE to do it on Saturday. Really, I did.

    K.

  4. Sounds like a great thanksgiving!

    YAY! for getting rid of the popcorn ceilings! I know how much you hated those! What do they look like now?

    I’m with you on the Black Friday thing. I have crowd phobia. I literally get sick when I’m in huge crowds like that. I doubt I’ll ever be out shopping with the masses. Years and years ago me and a couple friends went to Temple Square for the big Xmas lighting ceremony and it was PACKED. It didn’t take long before I said “We’re leaving NOW.” and then pushed people out of my way so that I could get out of the gridlock. It was insane.
    When we went to NYC we’d worked a 2-week shift out in the totally quiet desolate desert, and then left the next day for New York. I *hated* New York. I know part of it was just that I’d gotten use to the desert and NYC is slightly different. But wow, all the people in the middle of cities and the noise and busyness just make me so claustrophobic.

Leave a Reply

