Why Alyson Rocks

Earlier this week, and again last night, I got a phone call from Alyson (who, if you didn’t know, is my sister-in-law), just out of the blue.  There was no reason for it, she just called to talk.  It was really great… something I needed.  She listened to me complain and made me laugh.  Alyson has always been one of my favorite people.  I think we have just enough in common to be really good friends, but enough differences that we don’t drive each other nuts.  I miss going to the family reunion every year because I like camping with Alyson.  She and I seem to have had a good system to get things done, and we’d quietly (or maybe not so quietly, I don’t know) stew to each other when we didn’t like how little help we were getting from others.  So I’ve decided to make a list of the 10 Reasons Why Alyson Rocks.

10  She makes her own salsa.  I mean, who does that???  Not me!  I buy big ol’ jugs of it at Sam’s Club.  And her salsa must be stinkin’ good, because Tim is really, really picky about the quality of the salsa he eats.

9  Alyson can call and let me complain and vent to her and she knows I’m not trying to “build and army”, as she put it.  She just knows.

8  Alyson is also raising 3 boys.  She’s good at it.  Really, really, really good at it.  I like to think of her as my mentor when it comes to mothering.  I don’t know how many times I called her the first year of Aiden’s life to ask questions.

7  She knows when to take one for the team, and is perfectly willing to do so.

6  She plays the flute.  All the really cool people play the flute.  Seriously.

5  Alyson’s just fun to hang around.

4  She can empathize with me because she knows.  Doesn’t matter the situation.  She knows.  And she is great with advice or just a listening ear.

3  She is one of the very few Canadians (and “Camericans”) in the family (all of whom I really do love completely, by the way) who has never made fun of the way I say “sorry” or tease my about my American public school education.

2  She’s freakin’ gorgeous, but seems to have no idea.  I mean, the first time I met her I was intimidated like you wouldn’t believe.  It was when we were both still just dating our husbands, and I remember thinking, “I just can’t compare to this girl!”  (Why I needed to compare myself to her is beyond me.  But I did!)

1  She can make me laugh any time.  She has these great sayings that I try to adopt, but they just don’t work as well for me when I try to use them.  But I love them anyway.  You know, like “Just throw the baby out the window”.  There was something she said last night, but now I don’t remember.  I just know that I giggled about that forever.

So, there you go.  Alyson rocks, and now you know why.  I’ve probably sufficiently embarassed her to last through the next century, but I’ve been sitting on this post for a while now and just wanted to get it published already.  She called last night and we talked for soooooo long.  I’m exhausted today, Al.  Thanks. 😉  heh.  Anyway, just wanted you to know (since I’ve already made lists about my blood sisters, Lura and Erica.  Click on their names to see those lists.  Time to move on to the in-laws, right?) that I think Alyson is awesome.

7 responses to “Why Alyson Rocks

  1. Allison does sound pretty fabulous! However, I take exception to your statement that all cool girls play the flute!! Trumpeters rule! 😀

  2. She really does sound cool. But there must be something about you that’s cool too if she and all the rest of us like you so much.

    A lot of those things are the reasons I love my friend Christy so much. She’s the one I turn to for mentoring in mothering.

    It’s good to have someone to be so close to, especially that youre also have in common that your in-laws to the same family.

    Sorry, I’m not having much luck with comments today…

  3. I feel like I know Alyson just a little better–tho I’ve heard most of it before but just never put it all together [you do have more thasn one sis-in-law whom I don’t personally know…]

    I also take umbrage at the flute comment. If it weren’t for me, you wouldn’t! So how about cutting some slack for flute enablers? 🙂

Leave a Reply

