The World Should Revolve Around Me

Ches had to go to school early and do some work today (yes, on a Saturday!  Those of you teachers understand that this is not just a 5 day a week job with certain hours.  Blech.) so I was left to run some errands.  Not a lot.  Just run to the back to deposit a couple of checks and run to My Least Favorite Store Ever (Wal-Mart) to pick up my prescription.  I figured it shouldn’t be a big deal because I can use the drive-through window at the bank, and a quick run into the store to pick up my prescription since I dropped it off yesterday.  Least amount of work and pain for me with the three boys.

Boy oh boy was I ever wrong.

The drive-through at the bank was closed, so I actually had to take all three boys into the bank.  They have a nice little kid’s area, but do my kids stay there?  Oh, no.  They come running back to me to tell me about it.  Then they run back to the kid’s area, laughing very loudly the entire way.  This happens about 112 times.  And Dallin notices there are other chairs that would be cool to go see, so he’s basically running around the bank.  Grrrrrrr.

The bank people are being super slow for some reason, and I waited in line for what felt like an eternity (but was more like 10 minutes).  When I say line, I actually mean there was me.  Then a bunch of people came in after me.  The line was behind me.  So there was NO movement of the line the entire waiting period.  Blech. 

I had already lectured the boys before we even got out of the van about “NO running, NO screaming, NO yelling” inside the bank.  Too bad that didn’t work.  I had promised them a treat if they were good inside the bank and Wal-Mart.  That didn’t work either.  I finally finished my banking, and went to gather up the boys.  Aiden started whining, “Awwwww!  I don’t want to go!  I don’t want to go to Wal-Mart!  I want to play at the bank!”   Grrrrrrr.

We got to Wal-Mart and a kind man helped me get a cart, and off we were to the pharmacy.  I brought in my prescription yesterday, but the pharmacist (or pharmacy lackey) said that particular medication is out of stock, but it will be in the next morning, so come back around 11:30.  It was noon, so there I was.  After waiting in line (same as last time… I WAS the line! No movement!) for 10 minutes because some woman was trying to get enough pills to medicate a small country, the lackey of the day says, “Oh, it looks like that medication is out of stock.”   Grrrrr. 

So I asked when it would be in, and stated I was here yesterday and told the same thing.  She went to talk to another lackey and said, “Actually, they don’t make that anymore, so we will call your doctor to get a new prescription written.”

As I’m processing that information and wondering why they couldn’t have figured that out yesterday when the doctor’s office was actually open, another lackey comes over and tells me to be sure to call my doctor on Monday.

“I have to call him for the change??” I ask, probably very rudely, but I’m hot, tired, hungry, and I have three small, hot, tired, and hungry boys in my cart, so I don’t really care that I’m being rude.  The lackeys (lackies??) said they have faxed the office, but just to make sure the doctor does it, I should call on Monday.   Grrrrrr.

Now I’m home and I have to do a ton of laundry and clean the house.  We have some bar-b-que to go to tonight for band directors and their significant others.  It should be fun.  But I haven’t heard back from the family that said they are taking our boys today, so I don’t know if they remember.  10 bucks says I’m going to be making a ton of frantic calls about 4:30 (when the bar-b-que starts at 6:30).  Grrrrr.

If the world revovled around me, I wouldn’t have any of these “problems”.  Yes, I know.  They are insignificant problems, and if only that was the worst that happened to us, right?  It’s just inconvienient, I’m still hot, tired, and hungry, and now Parker woke up from his way too short nap.   Grrrrrrr.  It’s just one of those days.

4 responses to “The World Should Revolve Around Me

  1. Go ahead and growl. It was one of those days [did the sitter situation work out?] We all have ’em some of the time–and when your childrn are small you tend to have them more of the time. They will grow, and you will growl less. When Aiden tells you how much easier you are on the younger kids, you can tell him it is because he is helping you now. Or that there is only one big kid left to drag around–and that is much easier 🙂

  2. I absoulutly HATE those days… and of course EVERYTHING has to go bad all in one day…why do we have to go through these days?? I really do wish the world could revolve around us!! that would be great!

  3. “Earthlink-we revolve around you.”

    If only THAT were true and everything else functioned the same way. I wish people would open their eyes and see where they could be most helpful to women with kids. I’m sure they’re thinking “they chose to have those kids let them suffer.” At least thats how I FEEL that people are thinking about me.

Leave a Reply

