Recalled Toys

Just in case you haven’t heard the news today…

Mattel has announced a massive recall of toys that were made in China.  I know that most of you are parents, and I think this is important.  The toys were recalled for either having lead in the paint or magnents that come off and become a choking hazard, and I believe in some cases it is both.  These are toys that range from Barbies to Polly Pocket to Batman figures to Sesame Street playsets and Sarge (from the movie Cars).  Fisher Price toys are included on this list.  Go check out the website and make sure you don’t have any of these toys.  One child has died already, and 19 more have needed surgery, according to the Associated Press article.  Let’s not let it happen to anyone else. 

5 responses to “Recalled Toys

  1. I agree that this is important! I am glad that Mattel has vowed to make their toys go through a 3 step check ALWAYS before getting out to the market. I think this is needed…I believe a lot of people/parents/families believed the lead paint issue to be in the past and the magnet issue is a relatively new one. I don’t agree though that this is problem strictly from China. I don’t think banning things made in China is the solution. At all. For goodness sakes, the CEO of the company associated with the lead paint hung himself. NO ONE should ever have to be so villified in their country that they feel they have to take their own life! Thanks for posting about this! I am off to double check (again) if we have any of the toys affected.

    K.

  2. I, too, am very very concerned. I think the international community needs to lobby China pretty hard for stricter standards. What happened to Mattel could have happened to anyone and likely will.

    Two months ago, thinking about all the previous recalls, I said, “why isn’t anyone more concerned about how much we’re getting from un-regulated China?” Now I feel like screaming from the rooftops, but at least now I know I’m not the only one.

    BTW: although Sarge is so far the only Cars car affected, ALL of the die cast Cars cars are off the shelves in Targets across So Cal. I’m pulling all of Little Red’s until I have confirmation that it’s an isolated incident. It may sound like I’m overreacting, but I’ve seen the effects of lead poisoning in children.

  3. Zen mama they pulled the cars off the shelves in the targets here too but they’re back on the shelves now. Did you have sarge? Will was heartbroken. I waited a week with it in hiding for him to forget before sending it off while he was at preschool.

  4. We did not have Sarge. I remember the night I almost bought him, but picked up the Ferrari for my nephew instead, then joined the family at In-N-Out instead of making more purchases. I haven’t re-introduced the cars to the toy basket again, and I’ll be honest, I’m happy for the break.

    I really try to avoid licensed stuff anyway.

Leave a Reply

