Why Did The Kids Put Beans In Their Ears?

Because we said “no”!!

I was just sitting down to the computer this morning to write a quick post (about what, I don’t remember now!) when the phone rang.  It was the substitute school nurse from Aiden’s school, informing me that Aiden “thought it would be a good idea to put a rock in his ear.”  The nurse tried to get it out, but couldn’t, and didn’t want to make things worse, so asked that I come pick him up.

I laughed a little bit, but was also very worried.  I called a friend to take Dallin and Parker, called the pediatrician’s office to see if I should go in there or just go to the ER (deciding on the ER), called Ches and left a message on his cell phone, got the diaper bag together, made sure I had Aiden’s insurance card, grabbed Aiden’s baby blanket and a lion for comfort in the ER, realized that my cell phone was dead, so plugged it into the wall, found Dallin’s Blanket and milk cup, and we were finally out the door.

I walked into the school office, and Aiden was fine.  He had actually gotten the rock out himself just before I got there.  And when I say “rock”, I mean “little speck of something that resembles a very small pebble”.  Seriously.  Look at this and tell me if YOU would call it a rock:
Aiden's rock
By the way, I put it next to a pencil so you could really see the size of the “rock”

So Aiden got to stay at school and everything is fine.  Thankfully we didn’t have to make the trip to the ER (meaning thankfully we didn’t have to spend the money!!).  And Parker didn’t have to be with someone else, crying like he’s going to die any second, for too long.

It’s really quite funny now.  Especially since when I asked Aiden why he put a rock in his ear (which he has never done before!  He’s never put anything in his ears or up his nose… nothing!!) he replied that he wanted to come home.  Crazy little nut!

6 responses to “Why Did The Kids Put Beans In Their Ears?

  1. I’m glad he didn’t “get away with it”–coming home, I mean. It would set a bad precident. What’s the deal? Bored already?! To Aiden: Can you earn a prize for missing 0 days of school this year? Uncle Richard is trying to do it. He’s never quite made it before, but your Mom did, several times! Can you? love, Grandma

    You wouldn’t believe how long it took me to convince him that coming home would be a bad thing!

  2. How funny! (not fun, just funny!) I’m glad he got it out himself and you didn’t have to go to the ER!

    Jaedin stuck a pea up his nose the other day when we were eating dinner! That’s the first time he’s ever stuck anything up his nose (nothings ever gone in the ears). We threatened him pretty good so I HOPE he doesn’t do it again! Must be a 4 year old thing… 🙂

    Jaedin and Aiden are always trying to be alike, aren’t they? 🙂

  3. My son put and eraser in his ear last year. When asked if he did he lied about it for a week. We were finally able to pull the dang thing out. Needless to say I don’t think he will be doing that again. Kids will put the strangest things in places they shouldn’t

    Hi Audi! Welcome to my blog (although actually, I noticed you lurking about a week ago, so I’m glad you’ve commented now). The lie issue is something else I need to post about. Aiden has actually told me a few stories recently that I find really hard to believe, but he is so convincing I just don’t know what to think. Hmmmmm.

  4. I’m so glad you didn’t have to make a trip to the ER. What a goofy kid, how did he even come up with the idea that putting something in his ear would get him to go see the nurse which would in turn get him to be able to go home?

    Sydnie stuffed bread up her nose last week…

  5. I guess this answers my question I just posted on Flickr… I had to laugh when I saw it though, I’m just glad he got it out and that you didn’t have to go to the ER. Hopefully he won’t try this again though:)

Leave a Reply

