What Was I Thinking?

Ches left this morning for band camp.  He left the house at 5:30 am, while the rest of us were snoozing away in our beds.  By 7 am I had all three boys in my bed, laughing and playing.  At 7:40 am Ches called to say he forgot a few things, so could I gather them up and he’ll swing by and pick them on his way out of town.  They were running just a little late leaving the school, I guess.  About 10 minutes later, he called again to say that traffic is so bad, could I meet him somewhere?  No problem.  I got the stuff, got the kids (we were all still in pajamas!), and off we went. 

Of course, it sounds easy now, but it took me 15 minutes to gt out the door as the kids cried and whined things about what shoes they were wearing, how hungry they were, and that they wanted to “hang out” with Dad at band camp all day.  Yeah.  Fun, huh?

After we got home (a little after 8 am) the kids acted happy again… for about 5 minutes.  Then it was back to whining.  This time it was about playing video games, eating oatmeal for breakfast (they wanted it, we don’t have any), getting dressed, drinking milk, playing with Dad’s big flashlight, and watching TV.

It is now 10:37 am and I finally have them all dressed, fed, and happy with activities on their own.  I give it about 10 minutes before the whining commences again.

It’s going to be a loooooong wait until Friday comes.

5 responses to “What Was I Thinking?

  1. yes, but you are handling it…rough start and all! And isn’t Lura coming for a visit, too? I wish I could–if only traveling was as easy as picking up the phone…oh well, maybe in your lifetime! Have some “special’ fun–like maybe your own band camp at home for the boys one day–you certainly have enough instruments! And you could teach Aiden to do flag…no? Welll, it was just an idea…

  2. I have had many days like this *sigh* best of luck – my bit of advice would be to arrange a sitter about mid to end week for a short little break so you can gain some of your sanity back – that always helps me get through the times when Hubby is gone. Good luck! 🙂

  3. Hang in there–I’ll be there tomorrow! Of course I’ll be bringing 2 more boys too…oh well. 5 boys will be an adventure, right?

Leave a Reply

