Announcement

The waiting game is finished! Lura had the baby last night! Yay!

Gareth Leonidas was born on March 9, 2007 at 10:52 pm.
He weighed 10 lbs 2 oz and was 22 inches long.
Both Mom and Baby are doing great!

Lura said Gareth latched on right away and is doing great. Overall, everything went well. I’ll let her give all the details, if she so chooses, when she gets home and feels like getting on the computer again. Once she has a link to the online nursery, I’ll give it to you guys to see my newest nephew.

Hopefully, we’re going out to see Gareth (and Jago, Jesse, and Lura, too!) during Ches’ spring break, so I’ll take lots of photos. Gotta see my sister before she moves across the country and who knows when I’ll see her again! 🙂

10 responses to “Announcement

  1. Congratulations!
    Hooray!
    Babies are so much fun.

    Pardon me for being more excited about the second part: did you say you’re coming to Cali sometime soon? Will you be able to stop in this time or will you once again pass by without saying hi?

  2. OK, how come we none of us said a word when Parker was born until you could…and once again YOU make the announcement about Gareth? 🙂

    I formally announce the arrival of Gareth Leonidas, wonderful and beautiful and smart grandchild #6! And I can back up the adjectives…but no one wants to hear it.

    I never said no one wasn’t allowed to announce Parker’s birth. It’s just that no one did. I made the announement about Gareth because I can. Get over it. BTW, I had to delete his last name from your comment. Some people don’t want last names out there. And Mom, you’re still not doing the url right. I changed it on this one. Take a look at it. That is what you should type in, NOT “AllriesMountaintop”. I explained this to you on the phone.

  3. April–how do you deal with such tiny babies? Sariah was 5# 11oz at 2 weeks, and she was 6 months old before she was out of premie clothing. I confess, I did drop her–more than once, but only once on the floor [wooden from just a few inches]She wriggled and squirmed so much–and there was just nothing to hold on to! Gratefully, my others were larger, earlier, and I was better with my second hand.

  4. I have always loved the name Gareth (but it has to be said with an English accent, which means the A is like hAt, not AIR). Then again, the nickname ‘Gazzer’ is not nearly as delightful, so they don’t necessarily get everything right in the U.K. 😉

  5. Allrie, It was really hard to deal with such small babies, M was only 1 pound 9 ounces- but she was almost 4 pounds by the time we took her home. With both of them, I found myself working really hard to keep them warm. Their tiny toes and fingers always felt so cold! I started microwaving their socks 😉 about 20 seconds is just right for toasty toes!

  6. Wow, he was a big boy. I thought my 9 lb boy was big. He’s ginormous! 😉 Garath is a great name, not common. Sounds like The UK has some not so common names, I may have to ask Karen for suggestions as I’m looking for some not so common names.

  7. I saw Gareth when he was about 20 hours old, and he’s absolutely adorable. I’m not saying that because he’s family — it’s just the truth. I can’t wait to see him (and Lura and Jesse and Jago) again soon!!

Leave a Reply

