Warning For All Parents

It turns out we have a real problem on our hands, here. I think you should read this article and we should work hard at getting rid of such a danger in our children’s lives. Save our children!!

11 responses to “Warning For All Parents

  1. You have got to be freakin kidding me!! That article can in no way be serious, can it? That has to be the dumbest thing I have ever read. Please tell me that article was just some sick joke.

    Let children LIVE – I suppose we could just put them in a padded cell so they would never get hurt. Let them love life and adventure – why just the other day we had a cave in it with a fire breathing dragon…

    Umm, yeah, it’s totally a farce. It’s from the Onion. I just thought it was funny. Sorry.

  2. lol, I just read my comment and I was a little over the top wasn’t I – I suppose we know how passionate I am on the topic, heh – lets save our children, shall we? heh

    Ahhh, but that’s why we love you!! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, the shame!
    I loved the sarcasm in that article. We are such a litigious society that if we aren’t careful we really will start to infringe on such things as imagination (and there are some institutions in place that already do so) and then we’ll be no better off than the regimes which we so adamantly oppose.
    That was awfully wordy of me, but a very hilarious article. Thanks for sharing! (Now back to my very un-imaginative task of cleaning up and preparing for my taxes.)

    That’s the sad thing to me. There is a grain of truth to this article. Why else would they write it? (besides to make us laugh, of course)

  4. I didn’t realize it was an onion article at first! I was thinking, “WHAT?!?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!”

    I caught on to it by the end! That is hysterical! πŸ˜€

    So glad you liked it!

  5. Ok, I was really hoping it was a farce – and it sounded sarcastic, but you never know. Asside from feeling slightly dumb πŸ˜‰ I can laugh whole heartedly. πŸ™‚ I had never heard of the onion prior to this…

  6. GoofyJ, Thank you for your passion. I read the article hoping more and more as I went along that it was not a serious article. I was not familiar with “Onion” so I was still hoping when I came to the comments. Sariah, stop laughing at your mother–you didn’t laugh at Julia, but then again, you’ve probably never conversed with her about “Onion” as I’m pretty sure you have me. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, part of it was frighteningly familiar. In VA unstructured recess is no longer allowed by law–or some fiat the State Dept of Ed made. Everytime I took my class out, I was supposed to have a structured activity time [silly me, I thought that was PE] but criminal that I am–I gave my kids free play every day anyhow–as do most early elementary teachers, whenever they can get away with it–kids NEED it!

  7. Hey, I don’t know what “onion” is either. I just hoped that it was a farce. Lucky for us, eh?!

    I suppose TV is one of those institutions trying ot ruin our kids imaginations, huh. I’m trying to be better!! My kids seem to have good imaginations, so I haven’t ruined them yet!

  8. I didn’t think it was serious but didn’t notice at first that it was the Onion. As soon as I did, I remembered again how excellent they are at satire. There isn’t a lot of really good subtle satire available these days. Thanks for this, Sariah.

  9. I frickin’ love The Onion. I wrote a paper last semester on how The Onion and South Park are the best satires since Rabelais. Totally got a good grade too. It makes me happy when people read The Onion.

Leave a Reply

