Adventures of Blah

Someone from church gave us a couple of grocery bags of food a couple of days ago. Not a whole lot of stuff, just some stuff they found for super cheap at Wal-Mart or something and thought we could use some of it. We got Spaghetti-O’s and cans of tomatos and toothpaste and oatmeal… okay, there were a few other things, but I can’t remember. Anyway, normally we don’t get Spaghetti-O’s (not exactly my favorite cuisine!), but for 10 cents a can, I don’t mind taking a few off someone else’s hand! 🙂

I’ve been having one of those days where I just felt very blah. Nothing seemed to go quite right. I kept dropping things or spilling things. I just didn’t have the energy to do anything. The laundry is still sitting all over the living room. I still haven’t gone to the store to buy milk. I just feel blah. To top it off, as I was making Spaghetti-O’s with meatballs for lunch (for the boys. I had leftovers!), I couldn’t quite get the can to open right. As I was trying to pry it open, I sliced my thumb across the top.

OWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW

Blood was gushing as I tried to grab a paper towel. I immediately applied pressure, but my thumb was throbbing. Once the bleeding slowed, I washed my thumb and put on a Band-Aid. It crosses the top of my thimb, kind of, so any bandage is quite awkward. I didn’t think too much about it, but now I’m realizing just how much I need that one thumb. And I can’t stinkin’ use it! Even just pushing buttons on the TV remote hurts! Grrrr. I have to get some fingerprinting done, and that’s going to just be great with a huge slice on there as they push down on my thumb and roll it to make the perfect thumbprint (which I’ll bet anything it gets rejected because of the cut and I’ll have to get a whole new set of prints done. Man, I hope they do the cool digital kind, not the messy ink kind!).

Ches came home from school, and I thought I’d show him and maybe get some sympathy. Nope, not happening. Ches sliced the top of his thumb today, too! On a cymbal or something while putting together a cymbal stand. His is a worse cut.

So now I have my left thumb totally out of commission and I don’t get any sympathy because my husband is going through the same thing. See? I told you it was a blah day.

Tomorrow is Friday. Friday is supposed to be a great day, right? It’s the weekend! Anyway, I do have things to look forward to. I get to accompany Aiden on a field trip to the dinosaur museum. A friend is coming over to visit. The weather is supposed to be sunny and warm (up to 69 tomorrow afternoon!!). I’m getting my piano this weekend. So here’s to the end of BLAH… for a few days anyway.

3 responses to “Adventures of Blah

Leave a Reply

