Inheritance

Without going into any details, there is something I’m learning right now. It’s good to be poor. When you die, if you are poor, there will be no confusions and complications about money, assests, or possessions. You don’t have anything of worth, so what does it matter???

8 responses to “Inheritance

  1. Good for you for being so positive! I hope the mourning family members are all doing well and that the situation in which you learned this was a natural one.

    Are you doing okay?

  2. Oh, I’m fine. The person who passed away did so six years ago, so while we all miss him desperately, we aren’t in mourning or anything anymore. And I’m not one of the people who should be getting a piece of the inheritance either. It’s just a crazy misunderstanding going on right now, and hopefully can be resolved soon without any bad feelings all around. I’m just glad it’s not really ME that has to deal with it! 🙂

  3. yikes! 6 years ago and this is still an issue. Wow, I’m so glad you’re not involved! No one needs that kind of headache, least of all you right now.

  4. I don’t know what to comment, but man, I have a funny word verification. I think this is the word I used to say when I changed my son’s diapers a LONG time ago:

    pyoowui

    (Sariah, you’ll be getting a chance to say that word every day pretty soon.)

  5. Thanks, Karen! As you can see from my current post–I AM dealing with the situation to which Sariah refers, and feeling pretty lousy about now. But your word verification [and comment] made me smile. Again, Thank you!

    And, Sariah, I’ll fill you in later, but it was a MXMAUM [my W. veri.] crappy day!

  6. I can already tell that when my parents pass away it is going to be all out war between my siblings. I’ve already voiced the few things that i really want and if it’s going to leave hard feelings then I’ll stay out of it. It’s just stuff. I keep telling my dad to write down who gets what, but I think he’s not writing stuff down on purpose cuz he’s weird like that. anyway!! 🙂

  7. What my (paternal) grandmother did was that while she was yet alive and well, she had me take masking tape and mark on the back of the item (with the tape), what she wanted to give to whom. That worked out great….Unless you’ve someone in your family who intends to switch the tapes over….But we didn’t have any squabbles…Except for one. My grandmother was a schoolteacher for thirty years, and she had a bell with which she called in the children from recess, or at the start of school. That bell had *big-time* sentimental value to my dad, my brother, and I, because she had also used it in her older age to summon us in from outside, whenever she needed us. And my dad’s first cousin wanted it. My dad, showing backbone for what must have been the first time ever, refused to allow the cousin to have the bell. He wanted it to remain in our side of the family; and in fact, I have it right here by my bedside. I use it if I know I’m about to have a seizure and want to alert my family. Every time I touch it, I’m touching history. Although I have other things of hers – her little blue pocket-book; her glasses; her pillbox…and etc., it’s the bell that means the most to me. Money, that’s nothing.

    Money never should matter; if you loved the person, then what should be important to the remaining person is what was close to the departed person’s heart – and what connection one formed with that object. One can’t build a connection with money, IMO. I even have my grandmother’s little Christian Bible School pin, the first she ever got, that a boy gave her. I have tiny little things like that…And I’m getting busted up just thinking about those things right now.

    My dad said just yesterday, “Angel, I nearly had a breakdown when your grandmother died.” (I was thinking, “Yes, but Daddy, I know that I *DID* have a breakdown.) Some people are irreplaceable. There will never be another her.

    Sorry for hijacking your comment page (as usual! Sorry! lol)….Maybe you weren’t even as close to your person as how I was to my grandmother; I don’t know, since I don’t know about whom you’re speaking about in your post…But raise the issue of grief over dearly departed, and I promise you, I can no longer speak without choking up.

    Angel, who loves few, but loves those few FIERCELY.

    Angel

  8. I’m sorry – I want you to know that I didn’t mean to sound preachy. I know you don’t care about the money (if that’s the inheritance), either.

    I really wasn’t preaching…I was just rambling.

    Luv,
    Angel

Leave a Reply

